Search Results: "Ramsey Beyer"


BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE FISH by Ramsey Beyer
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Despite its split personality, her story is easy to relate to and recommended for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Laura Lee Gulledge. (Graphic memoir. 13 & up)"
An autobiographical graphic pastiche recounts the author's experience of leaving her rural hometown and going to art school in a new city. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Overflowing with information, fascinating tales and thought-provoking information; give it to animal-loving middle graders on up. (sources, further reading, index) (Nonfiction. 11 & up)"
With an eye toward documenting remarkable animal/human interactions, Campbell has assembled a large collection of fascinating anecdotes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HALCYON BIRD by Kat Beyer
Released: Nov. 11, 2014

"Readers, like Mia herself, will find her birthright, human and supernatural—from risotto alla Milanese to the roof of the Duomo—as delicious as it is scary. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Volume 2 of this classy series finds Mia still living in Italy under the protection and guidance of her extended family, learning the family trade (Della Torres have been trapping Milan's demons for centuries) while she gathers strength to confront the demon that once possessed her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Casimir Bridge by Darren Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 20, 2016

"Nefarious bigwigs, collusion, and galactic jumps against a cosmic backdrop; readers should definitely want to come back for more."
Interstellar travel is possible in the early 22nd century thanks to a much-desired element that one company controls and others will go to great lengths to take in this debut sci-fi adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: Aug. 28, 2012

"This one goes to the head of the class. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
To the recent crop of strong debuts in an overcrowded literary arena add this series opener, a tale of demonic possession and a centuries-old family trade in exorcism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KARNAU TAPES by Marcel Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 1997

"A good novel that might have been a much better one."
A powerful first novel suffering from weaknesses—winner of Germany's Ernst Willner Prize—describes the final days of WW II from two intriguingly blended viewpoints. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

In Sheep's Clothing by L.D. Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 2, 2015

"An intense political thriller that should attract House of Cards fans waiting for the next season."
In this tale of politics and betrayal, a Secret Service agent must do everything within his power to protect the president of the United States from forces that are conspiring to destroy him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AGONY by Mark Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 22, 2016

"Gorgeously madcap and brutally inspiring."
Two misfits try to stay positive as they stumble through a series of outlandishly unfortunate events in this reissue of Beyer's (Amy and Jordan, 2004) alt-comic classic.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILENT CHILDREN by Ramsey Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2000

"Campbell can leave his house, take a walk by swings in a schoolyard, and come back with a novel that writes itself in his sleep—or so it seems."
Campbell's umpteenth dip into darkness (The Last Voice They Hear, 1998, etc.) displays his usual warm hand for British domestic details that help pinch rosy life into the cheeks of his ghouls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIES by Marcel Beyer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 11, 2005

"A bit labored and opaque, but atmospheric, increasingly engrossing and ultimately very rewarding."
The metaphor of espionage is put to good effect, in an intricate tale by German author Beyer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST VOICE THEY HEAR by Ramsey Campbell
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 11, 1998

"You bet, though clever Ben isn't as fearsome as the savagely moronic Fancy family of Campbell's 1996 novel, The One Safe Place."
British psychothriller in the vein of Campbell's The Count of Eleven (1992) and Nazareth Hill (1997), with none of his more familiar occult horror and supernatural trimmings. Read full book review >