Search Results: "Raun K. Kaufman"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2014

"An innovative, alternative approach to creating a child-centered environment that directly empowers parents and caregivers."
The director of Global Education for the Autism Treatment Center of America chronicles how his parents pioneered a new treatment for autism after receiving a grim prognosis of his condition. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WOODY GUTHRIE, AMERICAN RADICAL by Will Kaufman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2011

"Not likely to hold wide appeal, but a solid choice for scholars and folk-music lefties."
Overdue rediscovery of folk music's great agitator. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON MONEY AND MARKETS by Henry Kaufman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2000

"Not exactly cheery, but definitely worth knowing. (Introduction by Paul A. Volcker)"
A superior course in economics (with a glimpse of biography) from "Dr. Gloom," the famous monetarist, financial forecaster, and bond guru who earned his sobriquet with his infallably honest, level, and sometimes unwelcome economic pronouncements. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOME ENCHANTED EVENINGS by David Kaufman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 12, 2016

"A warm and well-researched—though not particularly compelling—appreciation of one of the stage's most beloved performers and, on the evidence here, least interesting legends."
The charmed life and times of Broadway sweetheart Mary Martin (1913-1990). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JEW BOY by Alan Kaufman
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"An intriguing project—the tracing of the long shadow cast by the Holocaust on a Jewish Everyboy—but very unevenly executed."
Kaufman's (Outlaw Bible of American Poetry, 1999) grim memoir of a life defined by feelings of victimhood, traced chiefly to his mother—a survivor of the Nazi occupation of France. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 1, 1996

"Lively and amusing, with a cast of characters that calls for its own sitcom. (Author tour)"
The usual mix of architects, contractors, and building inspectors is scrambled with two pug dogs and a location in socially dysfunctional Venice Beach, Calif., for a witty entry in the library of diaries about the nightmare of renovating a house. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONFISCATED! by Suzanne Kaufman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A good book on sharing and for sharing. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Bickering brothers resolve their differences and recover their confiscated toys. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A BOY AND HIS SKUNK
by Leila Roy

“I love him,” Bat said. He hadn’t meant to say it out loud. Mom laughed. “Careful, or you might make me jealous,” she said.
“But it’s true,” Bat said. “I love him.” 
Mom said they’d have to hand the kit over to the rescue center in a month. But Bat, holding the tiny animal in ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

WIRED MAN AND OTHER FREAKS OF NATURE by Sashi Kaufman
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A well-intentioned testament to letting freak flags fly, marred by ambiguity in the wrong places. (Fiction. 14-18)"
White high school senior Ben Wireman wants to think about other things besides his hearing aids—like partying, soccer, and putting off his college applications. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAIRDBALOR by Kathleen Kaufman
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 10, 2017

"Best suited for those readers who turn to Nietzsche and Hesse for pleasure. (Horror. 14-adult)"
Seven-year-old Jamie falls down a "very long hill" into a dimension of nightmares. Read full book review >