Search Results: "Rebecca Janni"


BOOK REVIEW

EVERY COWGIRL GOES TO SCHOOL by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 27, 2013

"Girls having friendship troubles may not find the solutions they seek here, but Nellie Sue does have a can-do attitude that will resonate with readers. (Picture book. 4-7)"
It is easy to misconstrue everything that happens on a not-so-good first day of school when a new girl upsets the balance between two friends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JAMMY DANCE by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2012

"With the glut of sleepy-time stories out there, this offering does not bring much new to the bedside table. (Picture book. 1-4)"
Going to bed doesn't rank high on most children's lists of favorite activities, and Janni and Dockray's attempt to transform the nighttime routine into a rollicking good time is something of a snooze. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERY COWGIRL NEEDS A HORSE by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2010

"The glittery stars and hearts on the cover may lure readers into Nellie Sue's pink cowgirl world, but it's her hopeful, unbroken spirit that'll win 'em over. (Picture book. 4-6)"
City-dwellin', country-talkin' Nellie Sue, "a cowgirl from head to toe," wants a horse more than anything and fully expects to receive one on her birthday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERY COWGIRL LOVES A RODEO by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 24, 2012

"Terrific for cowgirls and bike riders everywhere. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Giddy-up, bicycle girl! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERY COWGIRL NEEDS DANCING BOOTS by Rebecca Janni
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 9, 2011

"A passel of fun activities—dancing, crafting, biking and dress up—are tucked into Janni's tonic tale of imagination and optimism. (Picture book. 3-5)"
What better way to make friends than throwing a party? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YELLOW by Janni Visman
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 20, 2005

"Captivating, like Ruth Rendell at her best, but with a mordant hipness that marks the welcome U.S. debut of British novelist Visman."
In an erotic psychological thriller, a young agoraphobic suspects her lover of leading a double life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BONES OF FAERIE by Janni Lee Simner
FANTASY
Released: Jan. 27, 2009

"With its dark, sharply imagined world, this will appeal to readers of Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. (Science fiction/fantasy. 12-16)"
Magic in Liza's barren town is verboten due to a disastrous war with Faerie, and those who are magical are thought to be evil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THIEF EYES by Janni Lee Simner
ADVENTURE
Released: April 27, 2010

"Light, romantic fiction with an engaging fantasy punch. (Fantasy. 12-15)"
When 16-year-old Haley accompanies her geologist father to Iceland, she's determined to discover exactly what happened the previous year when her mother disappeared. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SECRET OF THE THREE TREASURES by Janni Lee Simner
ADVENTURE
Released: June 1, 2006

"Fine fare for recent Cam Jansen and Encyclopedia Brown graduates. (Fiction. 9-11)"
A young adventurer-in-training keeps her wits about her and her eyes on the prize despite an uncooperative mother, snickering classmates and her own clumsiness—for there is Lost Treasure to be found, and more, in her seemingly ordinary Connecticut town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TOPIARY GARDEN by Janni Howker
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 1, 1995

"Thoughtful readers shouldn't be bothered by the many Briticisms, but there's an appended glossary just in case. (Fiction. 12+)"
Stomping down the road, away from her all-male family in a rage, Liz meets ancient Sally Beck, who invites her into the local manor's topiary garden to hear how she once became a boy. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

WOMEN AND MATH, WOMEN AND SCIENCE, WOMEN AND STEM
by Leila Roy

Hello, my friends!

As I said earlier this week, I am COMPLETELY BURIED under a pile of reading for the Amelia Bloomer Project committee. At the moment, I’m halfway through Margot Lee Shetterly’s Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race, which I am LOVING. It’s a great ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HANK HAS A DREAM by Rebecca Dudley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2014

"Choose this book for the art, as the dream Hank recounts doesn't make for much of a plot. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Little bear Hank dreams away, watched over by his hummingbird friend. Read full book review >