Search Results: "Reggie Nadelson"


BOOK REVIEW

LONDONGRAD by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2009

"Moving Tolya and his family front and center galvanizes Nadelson's often torpid prose. This is the tale she was born to tell, and she spins it with power and grace."
NYPD's Artie Cohen (Fresh Kills, 2007, etc.) learns that sometimes you just have to go home again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRESH KILLS by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Self-flagellation is still job one, with detection taking second place in Nadelson's joyless sixth."
NYPD's Artie Cohen (Red Hook, 2006, etc.) shares his angst with yet another borough as he looks into the disappearance of a Staten Island trash mogul. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOT POPPIES by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Feb. 9, 1999

"But color Artie himself a pale imitation, and with him at the series center, the center does not hold."
Though Artie Cohen, that handsome devil, is no longer a cop (see the series debut, Red Hot Blues, 1998), sleuthing remains meat and drink to him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DISTURBED EARTH by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2005

"Worth staying with for its sense of Brooklyn neighborhoods and its shocking conclusion as long as you don't mind the pervasive moroseness. Even the sex is glum."
Eighteen months after the Twin Towers fall, Russian-born Artie Cohen, back in the NYPD fold again (Bloody London, 1999, etc.), finds a new hell in Brooklyn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED HOT BLUES by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: March 16, 1998

"A louring debut for fans of Martin Cruz Smith and Philip Kerr—though Nadelson spins a much shaggier tale than either of his models, with new complications coming down the street every ten minutes."
``I was never going back to Moscow,'' vows allegedly cheerful New York cop Artie Cohen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 17, 2006

"Interesting, if not exactly compelling. The subtitle could be 'You Had to Be There.'"
An encore from the biggest Cold War celebrity you've never heard of. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLOODY LONDON by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 1, 1999

Location, location, location. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED HOOK by Reggie Nadelson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 3, 2006

"Big Apple navel-gazing at its glummest."
Marriage brings little joy to Artie Cohen, NYPD. He packs his new bride off to New Jersey while he searches the Brooklyn waterfront for an old friend's killer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: April 4, 2017

"A glowing homage best suited to patrons of the esteemed New York restaurant it portrays."
In this clubby portrait, a novelist and journalist seeks to understand what makes one of her favorite restaurants a New York institution. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BETWEEN YOU AND ME by Scott  Nadelson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"An unexpected epic made from life's minor moments."
Nadelson's novel—which occasionally recalls John Williams' Stoner—drifts through 20 years of a man's domestic life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

4TH AND FIXED by Reggie Rivers
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"A natty condemnation of financial misdoings in the NFL as well as a piece of insider's delight for gridiron fans."
Meat and potatoes for the football fan, courtesy of ex-pro (and current sports journalist) Rivers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NEXT SCOTT NADELSON by Scott  Nadelson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2013

"Mostly for fans of Nadelson's fiction."
Nadelson (Aftermath: Stories, 2011, etc.) takes a break from fiction to deliver this bit of personal history. Read full book review >