Search Results: "Richard McGuire"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ORANGE BOOK by Richard McGuire
FOOD & COOKING
Released: Oct. 1, 1992

"Recently chosen for a Gold Medal by the Society of Illustrators, an offbeat counting book to amuse and educate the eye. (Picture book. 3+)"
In authoritatively drawn illustrations that might have been devised as a showcase for the brash, sophisticated style associated with The New Yorker (exemplified on its annually repeated cover), 14 oranges from a single tree go their separate ways—to a lunch room, juggling act, marmalade factory, construction crew, etc.—all providing opportunities to display techniques of representing settings, perspectives, and, especially, classic caricatures, including six students doing a still life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HERE by Richard McGuire
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 9, 2014

"A gorgeous symphony."
Illustrator McGuire (What's Wrong With This Book, 1997, etc.) once again frames a fixed space across the millennia.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT'S WRONG WITH THIS BOOK? by Richard McGuire
Released: March 1, 1997

"The illustrations are dandy, with compositions that must be pored over even though they never intertwine with the text; this is a collection of intriguing pictures rather than story carried and complemented by images. (Picture book. 5+)"
McGuire (What Goes Around Comes Around, 1995, etc.) sweeps out his graphic arts playhouse for a scrapbook of conundrums, collages, and shadow plays. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT GOES AROUND COMES AROUND by Richard McGuire
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"Good, simple fun on a grand, global scale. (Picture book. 5- 10)"
McGuire (Night Becomes Day, 1994, etc.) uses retro-style graphic illustrations to tell a circular tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT BECOMES DAY by Richard McGuire
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Oct. 1, 1994

"Unusual and amusing, but don't look too deeply. (Fiction/Picture book. 3-8)"
Day becomes night, actually, in this strange game of word association by McGuire (The Orange Book, 1992). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RICHARD NIXON by John A. Farrell
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 28, 2017

"Full of fresh, endlessly revealing insights into Nixon's political career, less on the matter of his character, refreshingly, than on the events that accompanied and resulted from it."
A sturdy study of the man ranked at the bottom of many historians' lists of presidents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RICHARD NIXON by Conrad Black
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2007

"A massively detailed and generous assessment of a seemingly imperishable politician whose controversial career insures that this won't be the last word."
A lively, hugely sympathetic biography of possibly the most intriguing man to occupy the Oval Office. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE DIGS WORMS! by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third-grader Marty and her classmates are given a challenge by a visiting environmentalist: to develop Earth-friendly projects that she will then judge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAD RICHARD by Lesley Krueger
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 14, 2017

"An entrancing portrait of artistic minds confounded by the Victorian Age."
On a cold January day in 1853, diminutive and curious Charlotte Brontë traveled to Bedlam to interview a broken Richard Dadd, one of the most celebrated artists of her day. A correspondence between their minds haunted her and perhaps altered her life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 1994

"David's Day."
One of the many biographies of the actor, who died in 1984, including the surpassing Richard Burton: A Life (1988) by Melvyn Bragg and Richard Burton, My Brother (1988) by Graham Jenkins. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RICHARD POSNER by William Domnarski
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Practitioners will better understand Posner's impact on the law; general readers will appreciate this introduction to that increasingly rare breed: a public intellectual worthy of their time."
A practicing attorney and close observer of the federal courts examines the career of a present-day legal titan. Read full book review >