Search Results: "Richard P. Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

MYSTERIOUS PATTERNS by Sarah C. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"For visual learners, this is a particularly accessible demonstration of an intriguing concept. (Informational picture book. 5-9)"
Through examples of what fractals are and what they aren't, this photo essay introduces a complex mathematical idea in a simple, inviting way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2008

"Sure to encourage early readers and listeners to explore their own backyards for similarly wondrous creatures. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-7)"
A rosy wolfsnail prowls along a hosta leaf, finding and devouring its prey—another snail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GROWING PATTERNS by Sarah C. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2010

"This clear demonstration of complex ideas will be welcomed in elementary classrooms. (more about Fibonacci numbers, glossary) (Informational picture book. 5-9)"
In nature, the number series called Fibonacci numbers (1,1,2,3,5,8,13...) often appears in the arrangement of petals or spiral patterns in plants and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTWATCH by Richard P. Henrick
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 8, 1999

"All moves cracklingly, despite a ton of acronyms cluttering every page."
Readers who saw Air Force One will feel right at home as a coup against the US government is enacted on the high-flying Nightwatch, a terrifically advanced 747 that becomes the America's supreme seat of power from which a nuclear nightmare can be launched. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ATTACK ON THE QUEEN by Richard P. Henrick
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 1998

"Henrick's crisp pacing and rather infectious fascination with military technology go a long way toward overcoming wooden dialogue and generally unsurprising characters."
This military cliffhanger from seasoned pro Henrick (author of 16 previous thrillers) gets a remarkable amount of mileage from an unlikely conceit: The heads of the world's most powerful nations have gathered on board the Queen Elizabeth II for the latest session of the G-7 summits, and this time out the President of China is attending. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STOMPIN’ AT THE SAVOY by Bebe Moore Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 7, 2006

"Yarde's gorgeous illustrations, rendered in gouache and pastel, raise the modest story to something special. (Picture book. 5-9)"
A young girl is magically transported to the legendary jazz ballroom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 12, 2005

"That gleam shines throughout here."
Just when you thought the fount of Feymaniana had run dry comes this splendid collection of letters assembled and introduced by adopted daughter Michelle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNDERNEATH MY BED by Brian P. Cleary
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"Whether capturing fun or chronicling items that disgust, Cleary and Watson again brilliantly open the world of verse, enticing young readers to dive in. (further reading) (Picture book/poetry. 6-10)"
The sixth installment in the growing list of Poetry Adventures focuses on just that: lists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"The ferret couldn't have asked for three more caring, perceptive champions of their cause."
A surprisingly readable treatise on the black-footed ferret recovery program, by three members of the program staff. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >