Search Results: "Richard Stark"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"Lighthearted and occasionally humorous, but not fully engaging."
In their latest dispatches from abroad, Starks and Murcutt (Along the River that Flows Uphill: From the Orinoco to the Amazon, 2009, etc.) take readers on a pilgrimage to seven monasteries across Spain. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMEBACK by Richard Stark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 16, 1997

"If you're new to Stark's work, think of all the comic Dortmunder capers he's written under his real name—Donald E. Westlake—but with as baleful an absence of humor as in The Ax (p. 753)."
Following in the footsteps of fellow-thief Bernie Rhodenbarr, Stark's hero Parker returns from a 20-year retirement in this taut caper, which begins with a routine $400,000 heist from the Reverend William Archibald's Christian Crusade (the inside man, Tom Carmody, is an angel who's gotten religion and thinks money is the root of the Rev.'s evil). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ASK THE PARROT by Richard Stark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 23, 2006

"Stark, Donald E. Westlake's more menacing alter ego, flaunts his usual wizardry as unobtrusively as if he were ordering from a fast-food menu. The plot is minimalist, the technique superb."
The perils of aiding, abetting and stalking a career criminal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DIRTY MONEY by Richard Stark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 23, 2008

"Stark, Donald E. Westlake's more bad-tempered alter ego, breaks his usual rule and gives women—ballsy Sandra and dispassionate Claire—major roles. Not that Parker takes a back seat for a minute. The man is fiercely conceived, one mean piece of work."
Parker, the world's most ruthless noir anti-hero, engineers a bank withdrawal. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLASHFIRE by Richard Stark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 21, 2000

"But the author's blithe disdain for plausibility and an unfortunate sequence with paramilitarists would better suit his alter ego Donald E. Westlake's comic capers."
Waiting for his new associates to divvy up the proceeds from a Nebraska bank heist with him, Parker, the toughest professional criminal not behind bars, learns there are no proceeds: The boys plan on using it to finance their next job—stealing 12 million dollars' worth of jewelry in Palm Beach. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BACKFLASH by Richard Stark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 7, 1998

"Donald E. Westlake), like his outlaw hero, is never less than professional, and he supplies the fastest 300 pages you're likely to read this year."
When a road crash leaves Marshall Howell trapped in a wrecked getaway car, his partner, master thief Parker, has to decide whether or not to kill him before he skedaddles with their $140,000 haul. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREBREAK by Richard Stark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 14, 2001

"Tough, taut, and sublimely bad-tempered."
From the call to attention in the opening sentence ("When the phone rang, Parker was in the garage, killing a man") to the decision on the last page that one more killing would be overkill, Parker, the poster boy for bad behavior, leads a nonexemplary life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BREAKOUT by Richard Stark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 20, 2002

"A minor but very readable effort from master craftsman Stark (Firebreak, 2001, etc.)."
When an attempt to lift generic pharmaceuticals from a warehouse goes belly-up, career criminal Ronald Kasper/Edward Johnson/Charles Willis/Edward Lynch/the indomitable Parker, world-class antihero, finds himself in Stoneveldt Prison, friendless and itchy to escape. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"For fans of The Burma Road, Into Thin Air, and other tales in the man-vs.-the-elements vein."
A well-rendered story of WWII action and adventure, one with plenty of twists and operational pointers for future warriors: "Don't cross mountain ranges. Always go down in valleys." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOBODY RUNS FOREVER by Richard Stark
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 23, 2004

"A little too much situational bumbling better suited to one of the Dortmunder plots of Stark's alter ego, Donald E. Westlake. Still, if you want to make a killing, Parker's your kind of guy."
Unrepentant antihero Parker (Breakout, 2002, etc.) breaks yet more laws. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

APPRECIATIONS
by Gregory McNamee

“Men are often taken, like rabbits, by the ears,” observed the British literary critic F.L. Lucas. He added, “And though the tongue has no bones, it can break millions of them.” Yes, it can: we live in an age of broken bones, one in which the power-hungry are grabbing at—well, ears, if nothing else, by which we ...


Read the full post >