Search Results: "Rick Smith"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 6, 2014

"A useful warning against embarking on detoxification without medical supervision."
Canadian environmentalists Smith and Lourie collaborate again in a follow-up to Slow Death by Rubber Duck: How the Toxic Chemistry of Everyday Life Effects Our Health (2010). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG BROWN BAT by Rick Chrustowski
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 2008

"A solid addition to elementary and preschool libraries. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
With previous titles including beginning looks at bluebirds, beetles, turtles and frogs, Chrustowski now turns to the only flying mammal, the bat. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROTSKY by Rick Geary
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"A swift-moving, generally accurate view of Trotsky's life, guaranteed to send orthodox Stalinists into fits."
Illustrated life of Lev Davidovich Bronstein, aka Leon Trotsky (1879 -1940), "the brain behind the Russian Revolution." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GOOSEBUMPS
by Leila Roy

When sleep finally comes, I sink into a murky world of shadows. There is a tunnel before me, with bright light in the distance. The ground rumbles. White fog surrounds me. My heart is pounding. Something is coming, but I do not know what, and only feel its presence, a terrible shadow that slithers along the ground, leaving a trail ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLOOD OF OLYMPUS by Rick Riordan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"The satisfyingly cataclysmic showdowns yield to peaceful resolution at last; here's hoping it holds this time. (Fantasy. 10-16)"
With just 12 days to go until Gaea awakens fully on Aug. 1 and brings an end to the world as we know it, two groups of demigods struggle to stop her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2012

"A fascinating twin narrative, though not quite the story the title suggests. (bibliography, sources, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
In 1946, The Adventures of Superman radio show took on the Ku Klux Klan in an effort to teach young listeners lessons about tolerance and standing up to bigotry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE THRONE OF FIRE by Rick Riordan
ADVENTURE
Released: May 3, 2011

"What a week for the Kanes. If they don't quite vanquish evil for all time, they at least avert disaster long enough for Riordan to write Book Three, coming the spring of 2012. (Fantasy. 8-14)"
In Carter and Sadie Kane's last adventure (The Red Pyramid, 2010), they fought Set, god of evil; now the stakes are even higher. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST OLYMPIAN by Rick Riordan
ADVENTURE
Released: May 5, 2009

"The bestselling series's legions of fans will cheer their heroes on and rejoice in such a compelling conclusion to the saga. (Fiction. 9 & up)"
In the fifth and final installment of the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, Percy is turning 16, when it has been prophesied he'll make a choice affecting the fate of Western civilization. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SON OF NEPTUNE by Rick Riordan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 4, 2011

"Should pacing and wit continue unabated into the third volume, whose foretold European setting promises further freshness, fans will eagerly await numbers four and five. (Fantasy. 10-14)"
After spinning his wheels in series opener The Lost Hero (2010), Riordan regains his traction with book two of The Heroes of Olympus. Read full book review >