Search Results: "Robert J. Harris"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 26, 2005

"Excellently researched and argued; a useful adjunct to Kai Bird and Martin Sherwin's broader-ranging American Prometheus."
Did a vast right-wing conspiracy bring down the peace wing of the American nuclear establishment? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

J by Howard Jacobson
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"A pleasure, as reading Jacobson always is—though much different from what we've come to expect, which is not at all a bad thing."
Jacobson (The Finkler Question, 2010, etc.), Britain's answer to Philip Roth, returns with an enigmatic tale of the near future.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 15, 2003

"A little clunky, a little slow: a blip in the spy genre."
Evil, upright, or misunderstood? It's possible to see Red spy Kitty Harris—a.k.a. Elizabeth Dreyfus, Alice Read, Gypsy, Norma, Ada, et al.—as all three in this biography by retired KGB officer Damaskin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ODYSSEUS IN THE SERPENT MAZE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2001

"Young Hercules' novelization, while giving readers a taste of what awaits them in The Odyssey. (Fiction. 10-13)"
Yolen and Harris (Queen's Own Fool, p. 726) open a promising series dubbed "Young Heroes" with this tale of the teenaged Odysseus encountering storms, pirates, creatures both natural and supernatural—and a wise, practical young woman to take some of the air out of his inflated ego. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRINCE ACROSS THE WATER by Jane Yolen
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"While the history and lore are compelling, Duncan and his family never quite become living folk to readers, but serve mostly as mechanisms to deliver the story. (Historical fiction. 10+)"
The third in a projected quartet of historical novels about Scottish history takes as its tale that of Bonnie Prince Charlie and the Battle of Culloden in the mid-18th century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROGUES by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2007

"A good finish to the quartet, with echoes of Robert Louis Stevenson's Kidnapped to savor. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Yolen and Harris conclude their planned quartet of Scottish novels with this tale of the 18th-century Highland Clearances. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GIRL IN A CAGE by Jane Yolen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2002

"Fans of Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy (1994) and Matilda Bone (2000) will welcome this new tale of a strong-minded young woman coming of age and holding her own in a hostile medieval world. (Fiction. 11-13)"
Yolen and Harris (Queen's Own Fool, 2000) once again dish up an intense drama drawn from Scottish history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ATALANTA AND THE ARCADIAN BEAST by Jane Yolen
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2003

"An afterword discusses which elements come from Greek literature and which the authors created for this entertaining adventure with its strong heroine. (Fiction. 9-13)"
In their third entry in the "Young Heroes" series, Yolen and Harris (Hippolyta and the Curse of the Amazons, 2002, etc.) craft another fast-paced historical novel set in ancient Greece. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2002

Zena fans take heed: Yolen and Harris draw a minor figure from old Greek tales front and center for an edifying, as well as action-filled, encounter with quarreling gods, monsters, rival Amazons, and—ugh—men. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

QUEEN'S OWN FOOL by Jane Yolen
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: May 1, 2000

"Based deeply in fact and full of detail both luscious and sordid, the story's length will not discourage any reader who picks it up and begins to be enthralled. (Historical fiction. YA)"
With a handful of historical facts and a great deal of research, the prolific and marvelous Yolen has teamed with a Scottish maker of a fantasy board game to spin a historical tale of great immediacy and impact. Read full book review >