Search Results: "Robert McGuire"


BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2011

"Believable and endearing characters in a realistic elementary-school setting will be just the thing for fans of Clementine and Ramona. (Fiction. 7-10)"
When the promised land of third grade does not pan as promised, Marty McGuire finds herself playing a completely new role. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTY MCGUIRE DIGS WORMS! by Kate Messner
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"A quick, amusing read with an easily digestible environmental message; it is a perfect match for its young intended audience. (Fiction. 6-9)"
Third-grader Marty and her classmates are given a challenge by a visiting environmentalist: to develop Earth-friendly projects that she will then judge. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST BLACK KING OF THE KENTUCKY DERBY by Crystal Hubbard
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"As a whole, this overview of Winkfield's life as a jockey stands as both a celebration of racing and a snapshot of one determined man. (Picture book/biography. 6-10)"
Indomitable African-American jockey Jimmy Winkfield, known as Wink in horse-racing history, is the subject of Hubbard's dramatic picture-book biography, which explains Winkfield's career struggles as the last African-American to win a Kentucky Derby, in 1902. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRAME AND THE MCGUIRE by Joanna M. Weston
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 24, 2016

"A promising debut novel with a brave, endearing female protagonist. (Historical mystery. 8-12)"
Fifth-grader Frame is thrown into a sharp learning curve after she and her brother, Ranger, discover family friend Uncle Tam's dead body in a river. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORLD OF DAUGHTER MCGUIRE by Sharon Dennis Wyeth
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1994

"Yet Wyeth is to be commended for taking on a big subject and providing means for one individual to formulate a satisfying answer. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Racial and ethnic identity are untangled and rewoven by one Daughter McGuire, 11, who—with her mother and younger brothers- -has moved next door to her grandparents in Washington, D.C., while her father has run off to Colorado to write a book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE ELEPHANT by Sid Fleischman
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"A likely draw for young fans of elephants and exotic climes. (Fiction. 9-11)"
Punishment becomes reward in this original tale, set in "old Siam" and loosely related to the historical origins of the modern metaphor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

“FIRE! FIRE!” SAID MRS. MCGUIRE by Bill Martin Jr.
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2006

"A die-cut keyhole adds extra interest, though for design reasons it only penetrates the first few pages and the last one. (Picture book. 4-6)"
For the third set of illustrations put to Martin's much-revised version of an old rhyme (Ted Schroeder, 1970; Richard Egielski, 1996), Radunsky creates a cast of fuzzy-edged mice in a darkened room, who sound the alarm after spotting flames visible through a door's keyhole. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

"FIRE! FIRE!" SAID MRS. McGUIRE by Bill Martin Jr.
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1996

"That stereotyping contradicts the spirit of fresh perceptions shown in the rest of the book, but its bold, breezy tone helps compensate for the offense, and youngsters will be captivated by the colorful scenes and forceful language. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Women are depicted here in a number of unexpected roles, including the heroic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROBERT KENNEDY by Evan Thomas
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 13, 2000

"A compelling re-telling of one of the saddest and most intriguing life stories in American politics."
Newsweek assistant managing editor Thomas (The Very Best Men, 1995, etc.) enlivens his engrossing RFK biography with fresh interviews and the use of previously restricted sources. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROBERT FROST by Jay Parini
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 1999

"Parini's life magnificently details how Frost, through fortitude and lifelong dedication to craft, sought to heed his own advice to be whole again beyond confusion. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen) (Author tour)"
Parini, a poet (House of Days, 1998), biographer (John Steinbeck, 1995), and novelist (Benjamin's Crossing, 1998), delivers a sensitive life of Frost that highlights the poet's struggle to find light and stability in an existence filled with darkness and chaos. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"At a time when the biographical form is inspiring much-needed experimentation, Seymour's straightforward approach seems old- fashioned, although sturdy. (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
A competent but unimaginative life of the bardic English classicist, novelist, and poet. ``I could fall in love with my big toe if I wanted to,'' declared the contradictory Graves (18951985), notorious puritan and inveterate womanizer who held court for years at his home on the Spanish island of Majorca and is best known for his meditations on woman as muse in The White Goddess (1948), et al. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 1991

"A fascinating insight into British politics through the life of someone who knew everyone of significance, and who possessed an unusual capacity to tell the truth, however much it hurt him. (Sixteen pages of b&w photographs—not seen.)"
A masterly biography of Robert Boothby, a Conservative politician now little remembered, whose Parliamentary career spanned more than 50 years during the interwar and post-WW II period. Read full book review >