Search Results: "Robert Service"


BOOK REVIEW

SERVICE by Marcus Luttrell
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2012

"An action-packed, occasionally reflective saga of contemporary military service."
A Navy combat veteran showcases the deadly operations in Iraq, promoting American military duty as ennobling in the service of humanity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST OF THE TSARS by Robert Service
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"A compelling work; organized, concise, and chilling."
A scholarly biography that goes beyond the gruesome depictions of the Romanovs' end to examine the more complicated nature of Nicholas II's character. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE END OF THE COLD WAR by Robert Service
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"A wholly satisfying, likely definitive, but not triumphalist account of the end of an era."
In this thoughtful re-evaluation of a stunning historical watershed, British Soviet specialist Service (Emeritus, Russian History/Univ. of Oxford; Trotsky, 2009, etc.) concentrates on the political maneuvering that was Byzantine and often wrongheaded but rarely dull.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 8, 2012

"Why did the Soviets kill the tsar? Why was Finland granted its independence? How did Keynesian economics save Lenin's skin? For those with an interest in such questions, Service's book will hold plenty of appeal."
British historian Service (Russian History/Univ. of Oxford; Trotsky, 2009, etc.) examines the fraught birth of the Soviet Union in this careful, dense scholarly study. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A HISTORY OF TWENTIETH-CENTURY RUSSIA by Robert Service
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 20, 1998

"A straightforward and able analysis, in a text agreeably free of academic jargon."
A balanced and thoughtful, if seldom particularly innovative, history of Russia in this century, concentrating on the Soviet era. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Well-written and fascinating, though its appeal may be limited to the terminally food-obsessed."
An insider's look at the first two years of Per Se, Thomas Keller's New York complement to his legendary Napa Valley restaurant, French Laundry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIP SERVICE by Russell Lucas
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1992

"Candide and Tom Jones repackaged as comic apocalypse for the late 20th century: ingeniously and remarkably inventive, but be prepared, too, for the numbing effect of the long cartoon."
Lucas's best stories (Evenings at Mongini's, 1991) found a beauty and human grace even in the very deepest heart of squalor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CURB SERVICE by Scot Sothern
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 16, 2013

"A relentlessly gritty, cheerless portrait of a talented niche artisan."
A cult photographer's raw, rugged life in words and images. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 8, 2011

"By unveiling the complexity of something as simple as a smile, the author provides surprising insights into culture and psychology."
A winning smile is widely recognized as social currency even by our primate cousins, but—as LaFrance (Psychology/Yale Univ.) shows—its meaning is not always so obvious. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOM SERVICE by Richard Swartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"These 16 essays occupy that rare place where journalism becomes literature and where impressionistic portraits of individuals artfully convey the spirit of their time and place."
Swartz's masterful travel writing/journalism—in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Ryszard Kapuscinski—brings us closer to a true feel for the essence of Eastern Europe, as well as human frailty. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 25, 2016

"While the book suffers from the fact that the Secret Service is understandably reluctant to reveal any explosives that have been discovered or subjects disarmed under the watch of its canine patrollers, Goodavage's subjects and their companions are quirky and dedicated enough to engage readers wondering about those dogs on the White House lawn."
The latest treat for dog lovers by Goodavage (Top Dog: The Story of Marine Hero Lucca, 2014, etc.) takes readers into the world of the canines and handlers who protect the president and the White House.Read full book review >