Search Results: "Robin Martin"


BOOK REVIEW

THE HIDING PLACE GIRL by Robin Martin
Released: Feb. 6, 2013

"A quiet, eloquent work that, although uneven, effectively depicts a journey from hope to loss to rebirth."
In this debut coming-of-age novel, a young girl searches for herself—and discovers the safety and danger of living in hiding. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MARTIN WILSON
by Megan Labrise

YA author Martin Wilson’s sophomore novel has a gut-punch premise: One hot day in Tuscaloosa, Alabama, an 11-year-old boy takes off on his bike and vanishes. Three years later, he returns, gravely changed.

“I’m trying to write stories that are honest and emotionally powerful,” says Wilson, author of We Now Return to Regular Life, based on a true story ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 18, 2011

"The authors note that 'the film…will eventually be housed at the National September 11 Memorial & Museum located at Ground Zero.' A fitting complement to and extension of that film, this thoughtful and uplifting collection will also stand on its own."
Eight individuals and how they rebuilt their lives in the aftermath of 9/11. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

9 NEW BOOKS TO WATCH FOR IN JANUARY 2017
by Leila Roy

PHEW! I finally finished listing my favorites of 2016, and now it’s time to start the merry-go-round up again and look at the new releases of January 2017.

Here are a few of the titles that I’m planning on picking up:

Allegedly, by Tiffany Jackson

After a court case that was covered nationally, fifteen-year-old Mary is in “baby jail” for ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PLEASE PICK ME UP, MAMA! by Robin Luebs
ANIMALS
Released: March 24, 2009

From the moment she wakes until bedtime, a young raccoon alternates between seeking her mother's attention and voicing her yearning for independence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TONIGHT AND TOMORROW by Robin Ballard
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: March 31, 2000

"Gently reassuring, this sympathetic bedtime tale will help young readers keep their own nighttime fears at bay. (Picture book. 4-6)"
As he falls asleep, a small boy considers the various objects in his room and how they fit into his day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DAY, YOUR DAY by Robin Ballard
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2001

"Hear, hear. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Ten parents and their preschoolers experience parallel days, from their good-byes in the morning to their hellos in the afternoon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BADGER’S NEW HOUSE by Robin Muller
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2001

"Lots of charming detail and square footage used as it was meant to be. (Picture book. 4-7)"
A mix of common sense and generosity puts everyone in their rightful space. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWO IN A POCKET by Robin Ravilious
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 1991

"A sweet, old-fashioned story. (Picture book. 4- 8)"
Snippet the dormouse falls asleep in a field but wakes in a barn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EXTRAORDINARY MEANS by Robin Schneider
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 26, 2015

"Readers will do better to seek out The Fault in Our Stars.(Fiction. 14 & up)"
When Lane's drug-resistant tuberculosis lands him in a sanatorium, he finds that one of the other residents is a girl he met at summer camp years ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOPE IS A FERRIS WHEEL by Robin Herrera
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 11, 2014

"Well-constructed, thought-provoking and appealing, this first effort bodes well for the author's future despite some minor missteps. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Debut author Herrera deftly combines family drama with a school and friendship story. Read full book review >