Search Results: "Robin Rector Krupp"


BOOK REVIEW

LET'S GO TRAVELING IN MEXICO by Robin Rector  Krupp
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 1996

"Broad in scope, informative, and fun to read. (chronology, maps) (Picture book. 5+)"
A guided tour through Mexico led by the mythical Quetzalc¢atl, a creature that is half-bird and half-snake. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RAINBOW AND YOU by E.C. Krupp
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 2000

"Skipping as it does over so much territory, this refreshing break from the many conventional treatments of the subject is more a consciousness-raiser than a book of specific facts or projects for young experimenters. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
The enthusiasm that lights up the Krupps' previous science books (The Moon and You, 1993, etc.) shines in this busy disquisition on rainbows. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 15, 1996

"Though often straying from a discussion of astronomy in its sociological and anthropological analysis of vanished societies, Krupp's survey is evocative, absorbing, and informative. (150 photos and drawings, not seen)"
In the latest of his contributions to archaeoastronomy, the study of the astronomy of ancient cultures, Krupp (director, Griffith Observatory; Echoes of the Ancient Sky, 1983, etc.) conducts a compelling survey of sky worship in ancient Egypt, China, Tibet, Mongolia, Anatolia, Africa, and the Americas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RUBY SEAT by Joseph Rector
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2014

"A gentle, masterful exploration of growing up and coming to terms with the past."
A novel about growing pains, redemption and the steady presence of the natural world. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

(BAD) BOY MEETS (GOOD) GIRL
by Sarah Pitre

 

BOOK REPORT for The Promise of Amazing by Robin Constantine

 

Cover Story: Surprisingly Accurate
BFF Charm: Meh
Swoonworthy Scale: 7
Talky Talk: Easy Breezy
Bonus Factors: Bad Boy, Catering
Anti-Bonus Factor: Eyebrow Piercing
Relationship Status: Fling

Cover Story: Surprisingly Accurate

At first glance, this cover screams STOCK PHOTO. Well, actually, it screams ROMANCE, but it's also saying ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHEN THE FACE ON THE MILK CARTON BECOMES THE BOY NEXT DOOR
by Sarah Pitre

 

BOOK REPORT for Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway

Cover Story: Thumbs Up
BFF Charm: Yay!
Swoonworthy Scale: 8
Talky Talk: Graduate of the School of Sarah Dessen
Bonus Factors: Cameron Quick, Surfing
Relationship Status: This Ain't No Puppy Love

 

Cover Story: Thumbs Up

The typeface on this cover looks like it came straight out of a ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

PLEASE PICK ME UP, MAMA! by Robin Luebs
ANIMALS
Released: March 24, 2009

From the moment she wakes until bedtime, a young raccoon alternates between seeking her mother's attention and voicing her yearning for independence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARMALADE AND THE MAGIC BIRDS by Robin Harris
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2001

"No magic here. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An intrepid orange cat and a larcenous magician are the protagonists of this offbeat tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRIA AND THE GREAT STAR RESCUE by Rebecca Kraft Rector
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"It's an awkward debut, hung about with massive coincidences and typecast supporting characters, but Rector writes easy, engaging prose, and never lets the pace lag for longwinded explanations. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Fans of Sadler's Zenon Kar, Girl of the 21st Century (2001), take note: here's another futuristic adventure featuring a plucky but vulnerable preteen saving the day while fussing over personal issues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 2, 2014

"For the CEO, actual or aspiring, who hasn't yet lived and thought through strategic forecasting and problem-solving—no worse than most business books but nothing outside the box, either."
A nondescript business book advocating strategic thinking in a time of VUCA, militarese for "an environment of volatility, uncertainty, complexity, and ambiguity," coined to describe a post-Cold War world of known knowns, known unknowns and so forth. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EXTRAORDINARY MEANS by Robin Schneider
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 26, 2015

"Readers will do better to seek out The Fault in Our Stars.(Fiction. 14 & up)"
When Lane's drug-resistant tuberculosis lands him in a sanatorium, he finds that one of the other residents is a girl he met at summer camp years ago. Read full book review >