Search Results: "Robin Rector Krupp"


BOOK REVIEW

LET'S GO TRAVELING IN MEXICO by Robin Rector  Krupp
NONFICTION
Released: March 1, 1996

"Broad in scope, informative, and fun to read. (chronology, maps) (Picture book. 5+)"
A guided tour through Mexico led by the mythical Quetzalc¢atl, a creature that is half-bird and half-snake. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RAINBOW AND YOU by E.C. Krupp
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 30, 2000

"Skipping as it does over so much territory, this refreshing break from the many conventional treatments of the subject is more a consciousness-raiser than a book of specific facts or projects for young experimenters. (Picture book/nonfiction. 6-8)"
The enthusiasm that lights up the Krupps' previous science books (The Moon and You, 1993, etc.) shines in this busy disquisition on rainbows. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RUBY SEAT by Joseph Rector
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2014

"A gentle, masterful exploration of growing up and coming to terms with the past."
A novel about growing pains, redemption and the steady presence of the natural world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 15, 1996

"Though often straying from a discussion of astronomy in its sociological and anthropological analysis of vanished societies, Krupp's survey is evocative, absorbing, and informative. (150 photos and drawings, not seen)"
In the latest of his contributions to archaeoastronomy, the study of the astronomy of ancient cultures, Krupp (director, Griffith Observatory; Echoes of the Ancient Sky, 1983, etc.) conducts a compelling survey of sky worship in ancient Egypt, China, Tibet, Mongolia, Anatolia, Africa, and the Americas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLEASE PICK ME UP, MAMA! by Robin Luebs
ANIMALS
Released: March 24, 2009

From the moment she wakes until bedtime, a young raccoon alternates between seeking her mother's attention and voicing her yearning for independence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARMALADE AND THE MAGIC BIRDS by Robin Harris
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2001

"No magic here. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An intrepid orange cat and a larcenous magician are the protagonists of this offbeat tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRIA AND THE GREAT STAR RESCUE by Rebecca Kraft Rector
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"It's an awkward debut, hung about with massive coincidences and typecast supporting characters, but Rector writes easy, engaging prose, and never lets the pace lag for longwinded explanations. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Fans of Sadler's Zenon Kar, Girl of the 21st Century (2001), take note: here's another futuristic adventure featuring a plucky but vulnerable preteen saving the day while fussing over personal issues. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EXTRAORDINARY MEANS by Robin Schneider
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 26, 2015

"Readers will do better to seek out The Fault in Our Stars.(Fiction. 14 & up)"
When Lane's drug-resistant tuberculosis lands him in a sanatorium, he finds that one of the other residents is a girl he met at summer camp years ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOPE IS A FERRIS WHEEL by Robin Herrera
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 11, 2014

"Well-constructed, thought-provoking and appealing, this first effort bodes well for the author's future despite some minor missteps. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Debut author Herrera deftly combines family drama with a school and friendship story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DARK TRIUMPH by Robin LaFevers
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 2, 2013

"An intricate, masterful page-turner about politics, treachery, religion, love and healing. (map, list of characters, author's note) (Historical fantasy. 14 & up)"
An assassin with a will of steel fights her way through deadly palace deceptions, sickening sexual servitude and baffling assignments from her convent, becoming a major player in Brittany's 15th-century resistance of French occupation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"A classy read that repays reader effort. (historical note) (Thriller. 12 & up)"
Here's something refreshing: a religious-historical thriller with a nifty Mobius strip of a plot—think Nancy Werlin channeling Dan Brown—serving up shivery suspense, sans fangs or fur. Read full book review >