Search Results: "Robin Romm"


BOOK REVIEW

THE MOTHER GARDEN by Robin Romm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2007

"Imaginative and insightful."
In the tradition of Judy Budnitz and Aimee Bender, an offbeat debut collection of stories about the relationships between parents and children. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOUBLE BIND by Robin Romm
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 11, 2017

"A thoughtfully provocative anthology."
Romm (MFA Program/Warren Wilson Coll.; The Mercy Papers: A Memoir of Three Weeks, 2009, etc.) gathers essays by successful women about the meaning of ambition in their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERCY PAPERS by Robin Romm
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"A piercing, heartbreaking reminder that 'loss doesn't end.'"
Poignant account of a young woman's struggle to accept a parent's dying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROBIN HOOD by Margaret Early
adapted by Margaret Early, illustrated by Margaret Early
FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: June 1, 1996

"Read this copy indoors with velvet gloves on, and save Howard Pyle's classic telling to read outside under the trees. (Picture book/folklore. 10+)"
Early (Sleeping Beauty, 1993, etc.) now adds the tales of Sir Robin to her artistic retellings of classics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COCK ROBIN by Barbara Cooney
Released: Oct. 1, 1965

"In the 19th century, historians of education say, Cock Robin was acted out by school children."
Who killed Cook Robin? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROBIN HOOD by David Calcutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Sure to attract new followers for a perennially popular hero. (research and bibliography) (Folklore. 9-13)"
Robbing the rich and punishing the privileged, Robin Hood and his band return in a series of nine episodes gracefully retold and beautifully designed to appeal to modern readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Robin Stories by Heide Koenitzer Clark
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 3, 2015

"A novel about a novelist that's short on plot but long on character development."
In Clark's (Monsignor, 2014) latest work of fiction, a college senior defies his parents in his quest to write the next Great American Novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW ROBIN SAVED SPRING by Debbie Ouellet
ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 2009

"But Ceccoli supplies some beautifully Renaissance compositions and a lovely pale palette that modulates beautifully from winter to spring, which compensate pretty well for narrative weaknesses. (Picture book. 5-8)"
An original pourquoi tale presents Lady Winter, who's distinctly reluctant to yield to slumbering Sister Spring, and a bevy of animals who work to thwart her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROBIN HOOK, PIRATE HUNTER! by Eric A. Kimmel
ADVENTURE
Released: March 1, 2001

"There's lots of mischief and fun here, but its hero simply can't measure up to its villains. (Picture book. 5-8)"
What do you get when you mix Robin Hood with Peter Pan, and throw in a dash of The Lord of the Flies? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED, RED ROBIN by Stephen Gallagher
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"A satisfyingly twisty suspenser with a truly menacing villain. (Literary Guild/Mystery Guild alternate selections)"
Picking the wrong photo from an escort service's book sends Philadelphia ad exec Ruth Lasseter careening into a nightmare of murder and obsession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAGING THE ROBIN by Tom Crawford
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 15, 2014

"A sweet song from an uncaged poetic talent."
"Bird" is the word in this superb collection of verse. Read full book review >