Search Results: "Robin Romm"


BOOK REVIEW

DOUBLE BIND by Robin Romm
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: April 11, 2017

"A thoughtfully provocative anthology."
Romm (MFA Program/Warren Wilson Coll.; The Mercy Papers: A Memoir of Three Weeks, 2009, etc.) gathers essays by successful women about the meaning of ambition in their lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERCY PAPERS by Robin Romm
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2009

"A piercing, heartbreaking reminder that 'loss doesn't end.'"
Poignant account of a young woman's struggle to accept a parent's dying. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MOTHER GARDEN by Robin Romm
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2007

"Imaginative and insightful."
In the tradition of Judy Budnitz and Aimee Bender, an offbeat debut collection of stories about the relationships between parents and children. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 2004

"Notwithstanding a few cookie-cutter guidelines for wise decision-making, works best as a provocation of wisdom in the Socratic tradition, a challenge to conventional thinking."
A diverting and quirky guide to the decision-making process, containing a number of personal diatribes on received wisdom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 12, 2011

"Best appreciated by readers with some grounding in ancient history, but lively enough to engage newbies as well."
Scholarly but colorful account of the toxic fallout from the untimely demise of a continent-striding conqueror. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DYING EVERY DAY by James Romm
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 14, 2014

"The task of determining Seneca's true nature is daunting, but the wide body of information available to Romm enables him to give us tantalizing but ambiguous clues to the man's mind. Like any good philosopher, he only shows us the questions and leaves readers to figure out the answers."
There were many sides to the great Roman philosopher and writer Seneca. Romm (Classics/Bard Coll.; Ghost on the Throne: The Death of Alexander the Great and the War for Crown and Empire, 2011) explores his contrasting, even conflicting, skills in surviving at the dangerous court of Nero. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE AGE OF CAESAR by Plutarch
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 31, 2017

"If crucifixions and ferocious street fighting no longer characterize contemporary politics, Plutarch's rivalrous, 'inglorious' world in discomfiting ways echoes through our own time."
The estimable Greek historian depicts ancient Rome's violent politics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 17, 1992

"Well researched, thoughtful, evenhanded (if repetitive at times)—and distinguished by its wealth of detailed suggestions rather than rhetoric."
Romm (Research Scholar/Rocky Mountain Institute) details a strategy for restoring American economic primacy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NIGHTWOOD by Robin Muller
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 18, 2010

"Tamer than the virulent version by Jane Yolen and Charles Mikolaycak (Tam Lin, 1990), this does not include Elaine's pregnancy, instead relying on the artwork to picture her pining away for her love. (Folktale. 7-10)"
In this lush retelling of the Celtic tale of Tam Lin, the daughter of the Earl of March is drawn by music to the forest that has become the home of the dreaded Elfin Queen. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MURDER IS BAD MANNERS by Robin Stevens
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2015

"An irresistible English import with sequels to come. (Mystery. 10-14)"
A pair of eighth-grade girls, admirers of Holmes and Watson, expose a real murderer in a tony English boarding school in 1934. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EMMY & OLIVER by Robin Benway
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 23, 2015

"As a portrait of the emerging adolescent, it engages, even if it gives the effects of the kidnapping on its victim short shrift. (Fiction. 12-18)"
A girl loses her best friend when he's kidnapped by his father at 7 and must cope when he returns 10 years later. Read full book review >