Search Results: "Rod Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

DEAR ZOO by Rod Campbell
by Rod Campbell, illustrated by Rod Campbell, developed by Macmillan UK
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 7, 2011

"Overall, this pet is a keeper, an animal classic that improves in the digital age. (iPad storybook app. 2-5)"
If you write to the zoo to send you a pet, you never know what you'll get.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST ANOTHER ORDINARY DAY by Rod Clement
ANIMALS
Released: May 11, 1997

"Inspired silliness. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Just Another Ordinary Day (32 pp.; $14.95; PLB $14.89; May 11, 1997; 0-06-027666-5; PLB 0-06-027667-3): Tongue so firmly in cheek that it may take a surgical procedure to get it out, an Australian cartoonist puts wild spins on the events of young Amanda's ``typical'' day, as she rises to her alarm (a shirtless genie whaling on a gong), catches a ride to school with an elderly (in fact, a dinosaur) neighbor, listens to the tentacled, three-eyed new girl tell stories of her home ``in a land far far away,'' and, later that evening, cuddles up with a book and her huge ``cat,'' a lion named Fluffy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRANDPA'S TEETH by Rod Clement
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 1998

"The fully modeled, highly detailed caricatures of faces, bodies, and furniture will elicit giggles, while the inherent humor of the situation is milked for all it's worth. (Picture book. 3-8)"
A perfectly silly story with a whopping visual punchline sure to delight young listeners and readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 19, 2013

"Emotionally complex and genuinely affecting."
A Louisiana-born journalist's memoir of how he came to terms with questions of personal belonging that accompanied his "country mouse" sister's tragically premature death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TROUBLESHOOTER by Rod Lindsey
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 16, 2012

"Heavy in its despondence and bleakness but a story that readers are unlikely to forget."
A U.S. marshal's 30-year search for a fellow Vietnam veteran who killed the love of his life may be nearing its conclusion in the author's debut thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TOO BEAUTIFUL FOR YOU by Rod Liddle
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 28, 2004

"Well-observed, sometimes funny, if seemingly pointless."
Londoners get down and dirty in a debut collection of interlinked stories where everybody is either having an affair or just behaving badly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MOTHERS by Rod Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2016

"Happiness, though, is rare and fleeting in Jones' dark world."
Three generations of oppressed mothers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 24, 2017

"An enjoyable exploration of spacecraft from a reliably knowledgeable guide."
"On the cusp of a new space age, with a seemingly limitless opportunity for both robotic and human engagement in space," an expert surveys many of the manned space programs that failed spectacularly, fizzled, or never left the drawing board. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Jan. 2, 1990

Here, Gragg (The Illustrated Confederate Reader—not reviewed) tells a dramatically moving story of the courage and sacrifice shown by soldiers and sailors of North and South in the desperate struggle for Fort Fisher, the "Confederate Goliath" guarding the last major open seaport of the Confederacy—Wilmington, North Carolina. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CORINA’S WAY by Rod Davis
Released: May 1, 2003

"In the tradition of Flannery O'Connor or John Gregory Toole: a welcome romp, told in an old-fashioned style and with traditional southern charm."
A lighthearted but spicy bouillabaisse, New Orleans-set, by Texas journalist Davis (American Voudou, not reviewed). Read full book review >