Search Results: "Rose Lagercrantz"


BOOK REVIEW

SEE YOU WHEN I SEE YOU by Rose Lagercrantz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A story about making life whole—that's also really funny. (Fiction. 5-8)"
The fifth installment in the Swedish early chapter series featuring Dani, a young white girl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIFE ACCORDING TO DANI by Rose Lagercrantz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Another sterling early chapter book by this duo. (Fiction. 5-8)"
Dani, spending the summer with her best friend, Ella, while her father recuperates from an accident, is dismayed to discover that he has a girlfriend. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY HAPPY LIFE by Rose Lagercrantz
by Rose Lagercrantz, illustrated by Eva Eriksson, translated by Julia Marshall
Released: April 1, 2013

"A sweet read for both children and their parents, who may be grateful at the reminder of the emotional complexity lurking behind their children's smiles. (Fiction. 6-10)"
A chapter book about childhood depression paradoxically delivers a very happy reading experience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN I AM HAPPIEST by Rose Lagercrantz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"More likely to create anxiety than to cultivate empathy or sympathy. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Forty-six pages into Dani's happy, second-to-last day at school, her teacher takes her out to the hallway, newly informed that "Your father has been run over….He was biking to work." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY HEART IS LAUGHING by Rose Lagercrantz
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2014

"This deeply respectful book validates and celebrates the daily challenges of being a child in today's world. (Fiction. 5-8)"
A forthright early chapter book about resilience. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SUMMER RERUNS
by Julie Danielson

It may be that, here at my weekly Kirkus column, I’ve sung the praises many times before of French author Daniel Pennac’s The Rights of the Reader, originally published in 1992. This is to say that, if I’m being redundant, I apologize, but it is a wonderful book. To call it a guide to reading, which it actually is, makes ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIRL IN THE SPIDER'S WEB by David Lagercrantz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"Fast-moving, credible, and intelligently told. Larsson fans won't be disappointed."
Lisbeth Sander returns, bruises raw and dander up, in this continuing installment of the late Stieg Larsson's crime series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GIRL WHO TAKES AN EYE FOR AN EYE by David Lagercrantz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 12, 2017

"Tattoo artists will be interested in the as-if-born-in-fire origins of Lisbeth's body art, while fans of Larsson, while perhaps not thrilled, certainly won't be disappointed."
"First you find out the truth. Then you take revenge." Thus the ninjalike guiding ethos of Lagercrantz's (The Girl in the Spider's Web, 2015, etc.) latest installment in the Lisbeth Salander series. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

M.J. ROSE - LA MAGIE ET L’AMOUR
by Bobbi Dumas

If you’ve followed my writing/reviews/blog for any length of time, there are a few things you may have picked up about me and my preferred reading.

I love Paris. I love books set during WWI, WWII, and the interwar years. I love stories with a magical element. And I certainly like an interesting twist.

So it should come ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

FALL OF MAN IN WILMSLOW by David Lagercrantz
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 3, 2016

"A bookend of sorts to Bruce Duffy's fine novel The World as I Found It (1987); full of psychological insight though not much action."
Lagercrantz, heir to Stieg Larsson and author of the latest Lisbeth Sander installment, The Girl in the Spider's Web (2015), turns to a mystery of another sort.Read full book review >