Search Results: "Roy Adkins"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 20, 2007

"This real-life action will delight fans of fictional heroes from the same war—Horatio Hornblower (C.S. Forester) and Richard Sharpe (Bernard Cornwell)."
Sumptuous storytelling recreates the first worldwide war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NELSON’S TRAFALGAR by Roy Adkins
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2005

"All involved receive due honor here. A boon for buffs of the Napoleonic Wars, and a sturdy complement to Adam Nicolson's more exuberant Seize the Fire."
A thoroughgoing study of the most famous sea battle of the Napoleonic era, timed for its bicentenary. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JANE AUSTEN'S ENGLAND by Roy Adkins
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 19, 2013

"For fans of Austen and English history, a deeply informative picture of Regency life."
It wasn't all courtship, corsets and carriages—the grim reality behind a great author's world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2000

"The authors know their Egyptology, and in them Champollion has found worthy champions. Their highly readable account will be of wide interest to students of ancient history and cryptology—and to anyone who enjoys a bookish detective story."
A taut story of 19th-century scholarly research by husband-and-wife archaeologists, with lashes of intrigue and scandal thrown in for good measure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROY LICHTENSTEIN by Lou Ann Walker
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Jan. 1, 1994

"But ultimately, though this is far from a complete picture, there's much here that's intriguing about the craft of this unique contemporary; the book may well inspire interest in his work. (Nonfiction. 9- 12)"
A harmoniously formatted portrait of a pop artist of sure interest to young readers, with excellent quotes from interviews, 20 telling color photos of the artist at work, and 19 reproductions of his paintings and sculptures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROY & LILLIE by Loren D. Estleman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"More anecdotal than novelistic, it's too slight to rank with his best, but the Estleman hallmark has always been the quality of the prose. After 60 or so books (Alone, 2009, etc.) that remains fresh, flavorful and worth the price."
Rowdy Roy Bean, lovely Lillie Langtry—a fine romance with no kisses. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROY WILKINS by Yvonne Ryan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 5, 2013

"Brings deserved attention to the accomplishments of a dedicated, savvy man."
A solid biography of the man who headed the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People for nearly a quarter of a century. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIJOU ROY by Ronica Dhar
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2010

"On balance, this impressive debut novel will leave readers grateful for Dhar's thoughtful command of her material and eager to see her extend her range still further."
India's recent past and her Hindu family's own fragmented history complicate the new life sought in America by this dramatic first novel's eponymous protagonist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STELLA AND ROY by Ashley  Wolff
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 1993

"These outgoing, self-assured kids are beautifully observed; depicted in definitive black with joyfully bright added colors, their excursion makes a cheerful, attractive book. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Aesop's ``The Hare and the Tortoise'' is reenacted by two preschoolers racing ``around the lake,'' in what could be a San Francisco park, to a popcorn stand. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROY MAKES A CAR by Mary E. Lyons
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2005

"Tain't no telling what he'll try next.' (source note) (Picture book/folktale. 7-9)"
Lyons wheels out a terrific new tall-tale character in a Florida yarn based on a fragment collected by Zora Neale Hurston. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROY G. BIV by Jude Stewart
NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"Occasionally entertaining yet gimmicky book aimed at those with short attention spans."
In an artfully designed work, factoids and myths about color are brightly packaged in a format with eye-catching typographics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAVID & LEE ROY by David L. Nelson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 15, 2011

"Nelson neatly pulls together the story of two lives, representatives of their generation, to build something more durable and more valuable than personal memories alone."
Haunted by a continued sense of loss and guilt, a former Marine Corps Captain investigates the death of his childhood friend in Vietnam. Read full book review >