Search Results: "Royce Flippin"


BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST AMERICAN POLITICAL WRITING 2005 by Royce Flippin
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 2005

"A decent reference for political junkies and news addicts."
Anthology of essays on the white-hot political debates of 2004 tries to shed light on the issues and ideas that will shape politics in the coming years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST AMERICAN POLITICAL WRITING 2002 by Royce Flippin
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Nov. 1, 2002

"An engaging if not always premier premiere."
In what will probably become an annual anthology, Flippin offers a collection of essays and excerpts from a variety of commentators on prominent political issues of 2001. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST AMERICAN POLITICAL WRITING 2009 by Royce Flippin
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 13, 2009

"Uneven, but holds the occasional flicker of hope for the future of American political journalism."
Anthology of essays that attempt to make sense of the historic political drama of 2009. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROYCE ROLLS by Margaret Stohl
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 4, 2017

"A smart, satirical edge separates this Hollywood chick-lit from many others. (Fiction. 12-18)"
White high school senior Bentley Royce's reality TV world and her family are falling apart. There's no promise of another season for Rolling with the Royces, but can Bent make this one a record-setter and keep her family together? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEAD BOYS by Royce Buckingham
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"An inventive premise that yields solid supernatural suspense. (Horror. 8-12)"
This new thriller adds a unique villain—a tree—the roster of deadly supernatural foes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOBLINS! by Royce Buckingham
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Mild rough language makes an occasional appearance throughout this sometimes violent and often slimy tale, which races along and makes for a riotously good adventure. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Young protagonist Sam thinks living in Sumas, Wash., is "…like growing up in a rural coma." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEMON KEEPER by Royce Buckingham
FANTASY
Released: May 1, 2007

"Sequels are possible but not required for closure. (Fantasy. 12-15)"
A madcap chase through the streets of Seattle forms the centerpiece of this entertaining, if unpolished debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STOKER'S MANUSCRIPT by Royce Prouty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2013

"An obvious choice for fans of Dracula and Frankenstein and for anyone whose reading tastes extend into the realm of superstition."
California resident Prouty's debut novel will stoke the interest of Dracula lovers everywhere. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 16, 1989

By far the most intimate portrait of Cary Grant in print, much of it straight from the bedroom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUPER SLUGGERS by Kevin Markey
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2009

"Markey's deadpan delivery renders his tall-tale names and broad, punning prose quite comical, and the Walloper's triumphant out-of-the-park home run is the stuff of minor legend. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Eleven-year-old Banjo Hit Bishbash is known to his friends around town as Walloper (short for the "Great Walloper") for his batting prowess. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TERMINALS by Royce Scott Buckingham
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"For readers who want cinematic action and excitement without the fuss of character development. (Action. 13-15)"
A teen with a year to live is recruited into an elite team of dying 19-year-old spies. Read full book review >