Search Results: "Royce Flippin"


BOOK REVIEW

BEST AMERICAN POLITICAL WRITING 2009 by Royce Flippin
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 13, 2009

"Uneven, but holds the occasional flicker of hope for the future of American political journalism."
Anthology of essays that attempt to make sense of the historic political drama of 2009. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST AMERICAN POLITICAL WRITING 2002 by Royce Flippin
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Nov. 1, 2002

"An engaging if not always premier premiere."
In what will probably become an annual anthology, Flippin offers a collection of essays and excerpts from a variety of commentators on prominent political issues of 2001. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST AMERICAN POLITICAL WRITING 2005 by Royce Flippin
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 2005

"A decent reference for political junkies and news addicts."
Anthology of essays on the white-hot political debates of 2004 tries to shed light on the issues and ideas that will shape politics in the coming years. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOBLINS! by Royce Buckingham
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"Mild rough language makes an occasional appearance throughout this sometimes violent and often slimy tale, which races along and makes for a riotously good adventure. (Fiction. 9-13)"
Young protagonist Sam thinks living in Sumas, Wash., is "…like growing up in a rural coma." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEAD BOYS by Royce Buckingham
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"An inventive premise that yields solid supernatural suspense. (Horror. 8-12)"
This new thriller adds a unique villain—a tree—the roster of deadly supernatural foes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STOKER'S MANUSCRIPT by Royce Prouty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 13, 2013

"An obvious choice for fans of Dracula and Frankenstein and for anyone whose reading tastes extend into the realm of superstition."
California resident Prouty's debut novel will stoke the interest of Dracula lovers everywhere. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TERMINALS by Royce Scott Buckingham
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"For readers who want cinematic action and excitement without the fuss of character development. (Action. 13-15)"
A teen with a year to live is recruited into an elite team of dying 19-year-old spies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMACULATE DECEPTION by William James Royce
Released: Feb. 25, 2012

"An enjoyable first outing that wraps an intriguing idea in a well-paced plot."
A Chandler-esque noir detective tale featuring an ex-cop turned private eye, set among the gritty motels and palatial estates of Los Angeles. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

URANIUM SEEKERS by Craig Evan Royce
Released: July 9, 2012

"A blend of oral history, natural history and travelogue that brings an oft-forgotten corner of the West to life."
Royce (Country Miles Are Longer than City Miles, 2006) looks at the glory days of uranium mining in the American West. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 22, 2012

"A wide-ranging, rollicking good collection of comedic sketches."
A whimsical, unique collection of humorous takes on nursery rhymes, talking horses and chicken-fried steak, among other topics. Read full book review >