Search Results: "Ryan K. Smith"


BOOK REVIEW

ROBERT MORRIS'S FOLLY by Ryan K. Smith
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"Sharply focused, wonderfully engaging documentation of the 'ruins' of this American Ozymandias."
Examination of the shocking fall of the richest man in Revolutionary America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT BIRD CALLING by K. W. Ryan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2014

"A forceful indictment of American slavery, full of lyrical beauty and shattering loss."
A nuanced historical novel that pits the bonds of family and friendship against the horrors of slavery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Not That God by Ryan Andrew Smith
NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 7, 2015

"A lucid and approachable guide to re-evaluating conventional ideas about Jesus."
A debut book advocates refocusing on Jesus through biblically informed insights. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ORDINARY LIGHT by Tracy K. Smith
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 2, 2015

"Guilt and regret pervade Smith's recollection of her mother's illness and death, darkening the edges of this light-filled memoir."
A daughter's journey to claim her identity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WORLD'S GREATEST CHOCOLATE-COVERED PORK CHOPS by Ryan K. Sager
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 20, 2017

"Only for the most die-hard of Food Network fans. (recipes) (Fiction. 9-12)"
Twelve-year-old Zoey Kate is an ambitious culinary prodigy who's out to prove that she's San Francisco's best chef. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUDICIAL MURDER? by Dayle K. Smith
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 24, 2013

"A well-argued analysis of a key trial in postwar Japan."
An Australian jurist evaluates the legality of the Tokyo War Crimes Tribunal that followed Japan's surrender at the end of World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EAT by Ian K. Smith
NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2011

"Fitness buffs should pass, but those who need to get started shedding pounds will find good, painless advice for healthy weight loss."
Rachael Ray Show health expert Smith (Happy, 2010, etc.), offers simple advice for losing weight without feeling hungry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 1996

"Among the recent plethora of commentaries and reminiscences about the American century, Smith's is a standout."
From eminent journalist Smith, an intimate, wistful, eloquently narrated, and wry look back at the 20th century, and at his own extraordinary life. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LIKING THE UNLIKABLE
by Leila Roy

I know it’s not cool to define yourself by a boy. Girls are supposed to be independent, these days. We should be Strong Female Characters, we should be tough and self-motivated and grrrrrls instead of girls. We’re supposed to run the world—girls—and look unapologetically into the camera. We don’t have to smile. We can cross our arms or curl our ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SNIFF! SNIFF! by Ryan Sias
by Ryan Sias, illustrated by Ryan Sias
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"Young readers will sniff their ways to this one again and again. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A little brown puppy follows his nose and has an aroma-filled day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ICHIRO by Ryan Inzana
by Ryan Inzana, illustrated by Ryan Inzana
Released: March 20, 2012

"Beautiful and thought-provoking; questions unanswered will linger in readers' minds. (Graphic novel. 12 & up)"
A young American teen, son of a Japanese immigrant and an American soldier killed in combat, goes to Japan with his mother for an extended visit and begins to grapple with sophisticated cultural complexities. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GOOSEBUMPS
by Leila Roy

When sleep finally comes, I sink into a murky world of shadows. There is a tunnel before me, with bright light in the distance. The ground rumbles. White fog surrounds me. My heart is pounding. Something is coming, but I do not know what, and only feel its presence, a terrible shadow that slithers along the ground, leaving a trail ...

Read the full post >