Search Results: "Rysa Walker"


BOOK REVIEW

TIME'S TWISTED ARROW by Rysa Walker
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Sharp writing, a flair for dialogue and a big, twisting imagination."
A young girl aims to change her fate and the lives of everyone around her in Walker's time-bending debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HURRY UP, ALFIE! by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2016

"Some days parents end up a crumpled heap on the floor—Alfie shows why! (Picture book. 3-6)"
A boisterous crocodile does not want to get dressed in the morning. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A SEASON IN SPAIN by Ann Walker
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 1992

"A compelling inducement to cook—or to book a flight to Spain. (Maps, line art.)"
Travelogue, cookbook, wine guide, diners' journal, and a sampling of annual festivals: Region by region and season by season (grape harvest, pruning, bud-break), the Walkers (he: a San Francisco food-and-wine writer; she: a caterer) trace their travels and recall with enthusiasm and style the friendly people, delicious food, memorable encounters, vineyards and cellars and wine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE CHRISTMAS by Anna Walker
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"This would be an excellent choice for a toddler's first book about the Christmas season and could also serve as an early reader. (Picture book. 1-6)"
Ollie is a gray-striped animal, perhaps a toy rabbit or zebra. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST NUMBERS by Rob Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Designed to prompt discussion, these poorly designed titles will only perplex. (Board book. 2-4)"
This busy board book mixes large numerals, photographs and counting questions to dubious effect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE MY MOM by Anna Walker
ANIMALS
Released: March 23, 2010

"A companion, I Love My Dad (ISBN: 978-1-4169-8319-4; April 2010), treats Ollie's relationship with his dad with a similarly light touch. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Ollie B., a gray-and-white striped creature with long ears and floppy legs, tells readers just how he and his mom spend time together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEGGY by Anna Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"Here's hoping that Peggy has many more big adventures. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A charmer of a chicken has a big adventure in this import from Australia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Secondhand Summer by Dan Walker
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016

"A picaresque coming-of-age tale with an often appealing hero."
When his father dies suddenly, an adolescent boy faces more than one kind of loss as he navigates the perilous path between childhood and maturity in a new city in Walker's debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FUNNY FACE by Anna Walker
FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"The delicacy of the bright gouache paintings skews this title to older toddlers, as babies are unlikely to note such details as the thieving dog, but for the right age child, it hits the spot. (Ages 18 mos.-3)"
Beginning with the entirely accurate premise that "[e]veryone can make a face," Walker then rings the changes on the different sorts of faces one might make. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MOTORCYCLE MUSINGS
by Bobbi Dumas

Two fave authors have books coming out early next month, and I thought I’d make sure these titles are on your radar screen.

Laura Kaye and Julie Ann Walker always promise heart-stopping action and breathtaking romance, and if you haven’t read these two yet, then I recommend you get on that right away!

They’re both romance bestsellers, so I expect ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST WORDS by Rob Walker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"Bright but small pictures provide many opportunities for vocabulary development when read one-on-one, but don't try to use this in a group setting. (Board book. 1-3)"
A busy addition to the Bright Start Right Start series. Read full book review >