Search Results: "S. T. Ola. Akande"


BOOK REVIEW

Miracles, Mysteries, Death and Dying and Other Supernatural Events by S. T. Ola. Akande
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Aug. 6, 2013

"An intriguing, if occasionally problematic, compendium that presents a distinctly Nigerian view of the supernatural."
Akande tells numerous tales of his and others' supernatural experiences in Nigeria. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Stepping Out by S. T. Stone
NON-FICTION
Released: July 29, 2015

"An unassuming faith memoir and handbook for curious Christians."
From debut author Stone, a beginner's guide to the basics of the Christian faith. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 18, 2014

"Compelling and well-researched, yet not quite relatable."
A fictionalized account of the Apostle Thomas' travels following Jesus' Crucifixion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WASHINGTON'S CIRCLE by David S. Heidler
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 17, 2015

"A fluid work of historical research and engaging biography."
An elegant study on the shaping of the first presidency through the excellent people he chose to serve with him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAITHLESS by Kjell Ola  Dahl
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2017

"A glum, low-concept, diffusely plotted procedural that's much more disturbing scene by scene than as the rather lumpy whole it appears to be in the rearview mirror."
Dahl, content to go by his initials in the English translations of his earlier Norwegian procedurals (Lethal Investments, as K.O. Dahl, 2012, etc.), unfurls his full name in signing his seventh. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CONSERVANCY by T. T.  Escurel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 11, 2013

"Suspenseful, efficiently written YA."
Entertaining, plot-driven YA sci-fi that blends time travel with ethics and humor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 18, 2010

"A distinguished addition to the recent run of outstanding antebellum histories and biographies."
A comprehensive biography of Lincoln's political idol, the man said to have declared, "I had rather be right than be President." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

JOHN T. EDGE
by Megan Labrise

John T. Edge’s The Potlikker Papers: A Food History of the Modern South is no mere paean to peanuts, homage to hominy, and laudation to lard. Like the nutritive broth for which it’s named, this title is more substantive than it appears at a glance.

“One the primary aims of my book,” says Edge, a native Georgian who lives ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

UNDRESSING THE MOON by T. Greenwood
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"Victimhood in all its glory."
A 30-year-old woman, near death, comes to grips with her mother's abandonment of the family 15 years earlier. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GODS DON'T SLEEP by T. Thompson

"A genre-busting, surprisingly thoughtful novel, though inconclusive."
A teenager turns into a vampire—but that's not the weird part of this paranormal YA novel. Read full book review >