Search Results: "S.L. Brown"


BOOK REVIEW

A SAPPHIRE AMONG PEBBLES by S.L. Brown
Released: July 13, 2012

"Despite small irritants, an engaging novel that examines the effects an obscure religion steeped in secrecy can have on the lives of modern Americans."
A cult religious leader has a profound effect on the lives of a colorful cast of characters in this novel. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT OF THE BLUE by S.L. Rottman
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 2009

"Timely. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Stu knows the military. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STETSON by S.L. Rottman
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 2001

"Although Stetson's life is full of obstacles, his road ahead leads out of town and toward a new life, giving readers hope for eking out their own futures. (Fiction. YA)"
In the small mill town where Stetson lives, most of the other males his age are already working, married, and raising a family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE APARTMENT by S.L. Grey
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"Chills and thrills enough to attract and please fans of supernatural horror. This one will keep you up all night."
A South African couple seeks respite from their troubled lives by taking a romantic vacation to Paris that quickly becomes the stuff of nightmares. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLAZE by S.L. Menear
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 20, 2017

"An exciting paranormal action tale, notwithstanding its excessive plot summaries."
In the third installment of Menear's (Poseidon's Sword, 2015, etc.) thriller series, an airline pilot is the key to activating a weapon with the potential to destroy much of the world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW OF A DOUBT by S.L. Rottman
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 2003

"Too comforting an ending, as Daniel may still be convicted and sentenced to death, but thoughtful and forgiving of the large and small weaknesses of parents and children. (Fiction. YA)"
Debate team discussions of forgiveness and justice take on new weight when the brother of a team member may have committed murder. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BOSS'S WIFE by S.L. Stebel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 1992

"Rather slapdash but rather funny."
The mildly dishonest chief of data processing at an L.A. megabank gets a new boss and learns how dishonest you can be if you really have imagination. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Lane Changes by S.L. Ellis
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Dec. 20, 2014

"A captivating introduction to a cozy female PI series with potential for wide appeal."
The first book in the Cassie Cruise series. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Evera Dark by S.L. Reid
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 13, 2016

"A sexy start to unraveling a damaged heroine and killer."
A repressed Black Ops seductress and assassin falls for her latest target in this first installment of a planned romantic suspense trilogy. Read full book review >