Search Results: "Sam Brown"


BLOG POST

LOVE IS IN THE AIR - #RITAGH
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s an exciting week in the romance world! On Tuesday, RWA announced the finalists in the RITA and Golden Heart contests. (You can find the full list here.)

For those of you who may not know, the Golden Heart is Romance Writers of America’s contest for unpublished authors.

Some of my favorite authors and friends of Read-A-Romance made the RITA ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

MY CHILDREN'S BOOK GHOST FILE
by Julie Danielson

Over at NPR last week, I heard a pop culture critic talk (here) about what he calls his Ghost File, or the books, television shows, and movies he didn’t review during the year. “[I]t's the great frustration,” he said, “that every year I'm haunted by all the terrific things I haven't talked about … ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

IN FULL FLIGHT WITH GREG PIZZOLI
by Julie Danielson

The start of a new year is always exciting for readers. We envision brand-spankin’-new books from our favorite authors and new artwork from illustrators whose work we love to see. Look past our shoulders and you’ll see crossed fingers that our favorite writers and artists have something in store for us.

Most surprising of all is when we get ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

JACK'S WORRY by Sam Zuppardi
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 26, 2016

"Ideal antidote for anxious kids facing their own Worries. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A boy's fear of playing his trumpet at his first concert nearly overwhelms him until he confides in his mother. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OTTER GOES TO SCHOOL by Sam Garton
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 14, 2016

"What adventure will Otter have next? (Picture book. 4-8)"
Otter is back, and she knows some "people who aren't as clever as they could be," so it's off to school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THINGS TO DO WITH DAD by Sam Zuppardi
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 11, 2017

"With some imagination, even chores can be fun. (Picture book. 2-7)"
A to-do list sure can be a drag. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I AM OTTER by Sam Garton
Kirkus Star
by Sam Garton, illustrated by Sam Garton
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 29, 2014

"Hysterical. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A bright and hilarious escapade about an otter who, bored while her owner's at work, opens a toast restaurant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SCARE SCAPE by Sam  Fisher
by Sam Fisher, illustrated by Sam Bosma
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 27, 2013

"Fans of spooky fiction and comics will be in a dark and happy place—especially when they learn there's a sequel due in 2014. (Horror. 8-12)"
Wishes can come back to bite you...especially when they're granted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

20,000 LEAGUES UNDER THE SEA by Sam Ita
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Still, an undeniably cool and quick introduction to an otherwise stuffy classic. (Pop-up/graphic classic. 10-14)"
Graphic storytelling and pop-up technology combine to deliver a fast-paced, flashy rendition of the Jules Verne classic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUSY BUILDERS by Sam Hearn
by Sam Hearn, illustrated by Sam Hearn
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 26, 2016

"Construction-crazy toddlers and preschoolers will find plenty here to enjoy. (Board book. 2-5)"
An animal construction crew gets busy building a school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OTTER LOVES HALLOWEEN! by Sam Garton
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2015

"This one's a real treat. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Halloween is coming, and Otter is taking the holiday quite seriously, picking out the best pumpkin, choosing an appropriately scary costume, and thoroughly decorating the house—but when trick-or-treaters come, she is in for an unexpected surprise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ODYSSEY by Sam Ita
ADVENTURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"Homer himself would be agog. (Pop-up classic. 10-13)"
A highlight-reel version of Odysseus' journey home, framed as a graphic novel and plastered with fantastically dramatic pop-ups and other special effects. Read full book review >