Search Results: "Sam Cameron"


BOOK REVIEW

THE SECRET OF OTHELLO by Sam Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 18, 2012

"Mystery fans may wish for more sleuthing; those following the twins' love lives and military careers will find plenty of twists and turns to appreciate here. (Mystery. 14-16)"
This second adventure featuring twin amateur sleuths Steven and Denny Anderson focuses on the teens' personal lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTERY OF THE TEMPEST by Sam Cameron
Released: Nov. 1, 2011

"A true mystery with something to offer teens of any orientation. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Set on Florida's Fisher Key, this genial mystery finds 18-year-old twin amateur sleuths investigating the explosion of a yacht. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIN SNAIL by Cameron McAllister
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 12, 2016

"An unusual, mostly successful wartime adventure. (author's note) (Historical fiction. 9-12)"
A tiny rural village does its part for the war effort by hiding what could be the greatest car ever invented. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOW TO MAKE AWESOME COMICS by Neill Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 9, 2017

"A friendly and engaging orientation for emerging comics creators, although the activity pages make this one for home collections rather than library use. (appendices) (Graphic nonfiction. 6-10)"
A cheerful guide offering a beginner's course in designing comics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROOK by Sharon Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 28, 2015

"Full of derring-do and double crosses, this romantic adventure is thoroughly engrossing. (Science fiction. 13-18)"
A clever homage to The Scarlet Pimpernel, set in a post-apocalyptic future Europe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: Oct. 9, 2007

"Cameron's power is his ability to distill a particular world and social experience with great specificity while still allowing the reader to access the deep well of our shared humanity. (Fiction. YA)"
Cameron's meticulously voiced novel begins as a comedy of manners, wittily disarticulating a certain class of New Yorker, so it takes the reader awhile to catch onto the fact that it's actually a story about the psychological pain that comes from loneliness and the difficulty in making emotional connections. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GLORIA'S WAY by Ann Cameron
Released: March 9, 2000

"Great fun, with subtly placed, positive messages that never take center stage. (b&w illustrations) (Fiction. 8-12)"
Fans of Cameron's Huey and Julian stories (More Stories Huey Tells, 1997, etc.) are in for a treat as Gloria, their friend from those tales, gets a book of her own and graciously allows the two brothers to share it . Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLIBRÍ by Ann Cameron
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 11, 2003

"Painful, beautiful, and ultimately triumphant. (Fiction. 10-14)"
Twelve-year-old Tzunún barely remembers her life before Uncle, but what she does remember features a loving mother and father. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROPERTY OF THE STATE by Bill Cameron
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 7, 2016

"An eminently satisfying series opener for mystery fans who want their downtrodden detectives to be appealing, clever, and unafraid of action. (Mystery. 14-18)"
Foster teen Joey narrates events as he slowly uncovers a convoluted mystery, with a soupçon of romance added for spice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OUT COMES THE EVIL by Stella Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"Many characters but little character development, and the story luxuriates in gruesome details. Though Cameron (Second to None, 2012, etc.) obviously loves her characters, she assumes the reader's interest rather than earns it."
Two friends try to turn small-town gossip into a reasonable murder investigation when they discover a body and some clues that spur them on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WASHINGTON AND CAESAR by Christian Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 6, 2004

"A treat for Revolutionary War buffs, especially those interested in the role of Africans and African-Americans on both sides of that fight."
An epic populated by the likes of George Washington and Alexander Hamilton, various colonial bad and good guys, sympathetic Brits, and an African slave who leads his followers to freedom. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FRENCH QUARTER by Stella Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

"A very watery gumbo."
Beignets and a hero who calls his lover chÇre: the inevitable signs of contemporary formula-romance in New Orleans. Read full book review >