Search Results: "Sam McBratney"


BOOK REVIEW

GUESS HOW MUCH I LOVE YOU: COLORS by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 22, 2013

"While this is the first title in the series aimed directly at babies and young toddlers, the small size of the art and the washed-out color values make it an imperfect concept book. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
An exploration of color from McBratney and Jeram's nutbrown hares of Guess How Much I Love You fame. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOOK WHAT I CAN DO by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"While this father-and-son relationship is lovely and their habitat delightful, in this case, neither is well-suited to teaching about a more conceptual world. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
Little Nutbrown Hare explores colors, actions, shapes, numbers, sounds and the natural world on seven double-page spreads as his doting father looks on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I LOVE IT WHEN YOU SMILE by Sam McBratney
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2006

"Heartwarming and certain to tease smiles from even the grumpiest of little jumpers. (Picture book. 2-6)"
McBratney presents another loving parent/child story in this endearing tale of a mother kangaroo's playful attempts to cheer up her grumpy son, Little Roo, and her success in getting him to smile again. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ADVENTURES OF LITTLE NUTBROWN HARE by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 28, 2012

"Required reading for all young children taking their first ventures into the wide world beyond immediate parental reach. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Little Nutbrown Hare bravely ventures out to the Far Field and back in four sweet new outings illustrated "in the style of" Anita Jeram. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AFTER THE STORM by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 24, 2013

"These are spinoffs from a TV series that is itself a spinoff. Not surprisingly, the dilution of both visual and literary quality goes beyond atrocious. (Picture book. 4-6)"
The Guess How Much I Love You franchise sets a low bar for its knockoff sequels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GHOSTS OF HUNGRYHOUSE LANE by Sam McBratney
Released: March 28, 1989

Three "ex—human beings"—Lady Cordelia, Sir James, and Bobble (a chimney-sweep girl)—find their "Unwakeful Serenity" shattered by the three young Sweets ("interesting children but not particularly nice"), whose newly rich parents have rented the house where the ghosts had quietly resided with old Mercia Porterhouse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YES WE CAN! by Sam McBratney
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2007

"But this is a minor quibble, as the universal subjects covered will be both helpful and enjoyable for young children. (Picture book. 3-6)"
The author of the wildly successful Guess How Much I Love You (1995) tackles competition and compromise. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THERE, THERE by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"A pleasing portrait of a nurturing father-son relationship, McBratney's latest should find a warm welcome. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Fans of McBratney's best-known work, Guess How Much I Love You (illustrated by Anita Jeram, 1994), will recognize (and embrace) the cozy tone of this charming story about how to cope with mishaps. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLORS EVERYWHERE by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"The sweet, sunny watercolor-and-ink images are both simple and pretty, as is the warm relationship between Big and Little. (Picture books. 3-6)"
Here are two perfectly charming board books—When I'm Big and Colors Everywhere (978-0-7636-3545-9)—from the author and illustrator of Guess How Much I Love You, a bestseller that inspired a host of wannabes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE MORE TICKLE! by Sam McBratney
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 9, 2016

"This will give readers a case of the giggles, but they won't be rolling on the floor in hysterics. (Board book. 1-3)"
The lovable hares return for a ticklefest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHEN I’M BIG by Sam McBratney
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2008

"The sweet, sunny watercolor-and-ink images are both simple and pretty, as is the warm relationship between Big and Little. (Picture books. 3-6)"
Here are two perfectly charming board books—When I'm Big and Colors Everywhere (978-0-7636-3545-9)—from the author and illustrator of Guess How Much I Love You, a bestseller that inspired a host of wannabes. Read full book review >