Search Results: "Samantha Bee"


BOOK REVIEW

I KNOW I AM, BUT WHAT ARE YOU? by Samantha Bee
NON-FICTION
Released: June 1, 2010

"The book will certainly please longtime fans, whether or not it attracts new ones."
A hit-and-miss debut collection of humorous essays from Daily Show correspondent Bee. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SAMANTHA HUNT
by Lucas Loredo

Samantha Hunt’s fiction lies in the meeting place between our common reality and the expanded reality of dreams, transformations, visitations, and conjurings. In her previous novels, teenagers communicate with the dead, a man travels through time over Queens, and men emerge from and disappear into the ocean. Hunt’s latest book, a collection of stories titled The Dark Dark, again inhabits ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

NOTHING LIKE APRIL OR PARIS
by Bobbi Dumas

Yay! April’s here!

There’s something special about April, with its exuberant celebration of spring—flowers blooming, trees blossoming, leaves unfurling, reaching for the sun.

I can appreciate that feeling, and love that this is the time of year when we can step outside and tilt our faces up to the sky and feel the warmth of the season on our skin ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY'S COLORS by William Bee
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A clean-cut introduction to the colors of the rainbow. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Stanley the hamster moves from simple picture books to the board-book set. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HIVE by Bee Wilson
NON-FICTION
Released: June 5, 2006

"Precise, quick-witted and poetic."
British food journalist Wilson investigates humans' relationship with the honeybee. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEWARE OF THE FROG by William Bee
ANIMALS
Released: July 1, 2008

Joining the rapidly swelling ranks of seemingly innocuous tales for younglings in which main characters are suddenly killed off, this charming outing stars sweet little old Mrs. Collywobbles and the small attack frog that guards her doorstep. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

AND THE TRAIN GOES... by William Bee
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"A fresh, visually arresting read-aloud with a lovely old-time feel. (Picture book. 3-5)"
"Here is the station all noisy and full, / and the station clock goes, ‘Tick-tock, tickerty-tock . . . '/ and the man in the station office cries, ‘Hurry up! Hurry up! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIRST BITE by Bee Wilson
NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 2015

"With generous measures of grounded wisdom and solid research findings, the book should attract and possibly inspire broad groups of readers struggling with eating-related issues; for others, it may be of less interest."
An exploration of the notion that we can change our early food habits. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 9, 2012

"Rarely has a book with so much information been such an entertaining read."
From British food writer Wilson (Sandwich: A Global History, 2010, etc.), a savory survey of kitchen implements and their impact. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RIVER OF NO RETURN by Bee Ridgway
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 23, 2013

"It's not especially distinguished, but bookish fantasy fans who make it a point to keep up with Doctor Who will like this one."
Literate time-travel exercise by English professor and debut novelist Ridgway. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STANLEY THE FARMER by William Bee
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Steady and bright, this will appeal to toddlers looking for comfort, not thrills. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A cartoonlike hamster named Stanley and two other small mammals demonstrate the steps used to plant, maintain and harvest wheat at a typical commercial farm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIGLOO'S DAY by William Bee
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 24, 2015

"Whew. There's definitely a new 'Busytown' in town. (Picture book. 4-6)"
Doing Richard Scarry considerably more than one better, a peripatetic beagle sails through teeming cartoon seek-and-find scenes featuring over 65 named characters. Read full book review >