Search Results: "Samuel S. Janus"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 23, 1993

In the tradition of Kinsey and Masters & Johnson—an exhaustive survey/interpretation of sex in America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

S. by Slavenka Drakulic
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2000

"This one is more painful than most."
Justly acclaimed as a journalist and an essayist, Drakuli—chose the novel for her latest tale of the terrors of the breakup of the former Yugoslavia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

S by John Updike
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 12, 1988

"Possible moral here: a rage for symmetry isn't always an artist's best friend."
A companion piece to Roger's Version, this is Updike updating Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter by having Hester Prynne—here, Sarah Worth—get her two cents in as well. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

S. by J.J. Abrams
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 29, 2013

"Beguiling. For fans of mysteries, postmodern fiction and fine bookmaking: a book that makes demands of its reader, but that amply entertains in return."
A delightful, endlessly unfolding fiction that is meta beyond meta, a sort of Da Vinci Code for smart people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KILLING JANUS by Dave Gardner
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 22, 2006

"Gardner's vigorous, pulpy prose and well-wrought action scenes somewhat redeem his shameless wallowing in pornographic violence."
What's worse-a fiendish serial killer or a pitiless mercenary killer? Find out in this gore-splattered thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HISS-S-S-S! by Eric A. Kimmel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"With a disappointing lack of emotion and humor, the story feels less like a boy's adventure with his first pet and more like a manual on how to (and how not to) care for a pet snake. (Fiction. 7-12)"
Ophidiophobes beware! Readers who aren't genuine snake lovers will likely find it difficult to sink their fangs into this tale. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VICTORY ON JANUS by Andre Norton
Released: Sept. 14, 1966

"The writing is in her most involved style and you practically need a machete to break through the underbrush of the Ifts' green, spiritual world."
In a follow-up to Judgement on Janus, this is one of the most illusory, other-dimensional stories from this excellent science fiction writer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMUEL JOHNSON by David Nokes
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 2009

"Rigorous and scholarly, but an introduction rather than an advancement in knowledge."
A swift life of the author of A Dictionary of the English Language (1755), whose corporal and hygienic eccentricities matched in uniqueness the brilliance of his mind. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMUEL JOHNSON by Peter Martin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 1, 2008

"From the ordinary clay of words, Martin sculpts an impressive image of an extraordinary man."
Reliable, readable life of 18th-century England's most celebrated intellectual, lexicographer, poet, critic, biographer, essayist, Tory, travel writer and—perhaps most of all—Personality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMUEL ADAMS by Mark Puls
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 14, 2006

"Fully restores Adams to his rightful place as an indispensable provocateur of American liberty."
A brief, sharply focused biography of the mastermind behind the American colonies' break with England, and the drive for independence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAMUEL JOHNSON by Jeffrey Meyers
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 1, 2008

"Lacks its subject's wit and fire, but displays Johnson in all his grime and glory."
A balanced view of the troubled yet triumphant life of one of literature's and lexicography's not-so-gentle giants. Read full book review >