Search Results: "Sara Holbrook"


BOOK REVIEW

HOLBROOK by Bonny Becker
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 13, 2006

"The message that creativity should be valued and nourished is a worthy one, but given the utter lack of child appeal, it's unlikely many readers will get that message here. (Fiction. 8-10)"
An earnest message is weighed down by a predictable plot and flat characterization. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SARA by Yasser S. Hassan
FICTION & LITERATURE

"A scintillating tale that ends just as it gets going."
The government's leading telepath, John Doe, has a new Black Ops assignment: help mentor a beautiful test-tube woman whose powers exceed his. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ENEMY by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"A solid fictional examination of a time rarely depicted for this age group. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
Poet Holbrook brings back the Cold War in her debut novel for middle grades. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Glazner's Poetry Slam: The Competitive Art of Performance Poetry (2000) remains the older slammer's bible, but younger readers looking for ways to get poetry 'from the page to the stage' will get plenty of help here. (Nonfiction. 10-15)"
Guaranteed to get even confirmed classroom drones out of their seats and into an audience's face, this high-energy manual is a poetry slam-dunk, combining plenty of easy practice pieces—"The guinea pig has fleas, / there are grass stains on my knees, /AND IT'S ALL MY FAULT?"—with pithy advice about voice, gesture, rhythm, and other aspects of solo, paired, and choral performance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WEIRD?  (ME, TOO!)  LET'S BE FRIENDS by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"A playful yet thoughtful look at the many manifestations of friendship—through words, teasing, physical play—just right for the mid-elementary crowd. (Poetry. 8-12)"
Performance poet Holbrook teams up again with Sandstrom (Zombies! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZOMBIES! by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"This is good classroom poetry, though, if not verse for the ages. (Poetry. 9-11)"
"He called on me. / My answer's wrong. / Caught like a squirrel / on an open lawn. / Standing alone, / twiddling my paws, / frozen in place, / working my jaws. / I'd like to bolt, / but where? / I moan. / Could anyone / be more / alone?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BY DEFINITION by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"It's a Poetry Jam (2002). (Poetry. 11-13)"
"TV came / out of radio, / free verse / came out of rhyme. / I am / coming out of middle school, / changing all the time." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SARA BISHOP by Scott O'Dell
FICTION
Released: April 23, 1980

"It is, though, her own resourcefulness that gets her out each time; there is some small, undramatic progression in her withdrawal and incipient healing; and the adventure, historical background, survival mechanics, and inner condition are well integrated."
In the early days of the Revolutionary War, Sara Bishop's Tory father is killed and their farmhouse burned by hoodlum Patriot Boys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"The teen voices are honest and will ring true for any teen who's ever had a crush, been mortified by his or her parents or broken off a relationship with the classic 'it's not you, it's me.' (Poetry. 11-15)"
The highs and lows of first love are chronicled in various poetic forms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOVE, SARA by Mary Beth Lundgren
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2001

"Lundgren has indeed made a promising start. (Fiction. YA)"
Fifteen-year-old Sara has already experienced extreme trauma in her life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2004

"Skims across the surface of a very deep lake. (16 pp. b&w photos, not seen)"
A thoroughly researched, though highly chatty and oddly superficial, attempt to rehabilitate the image of FDR's mother, which was besmirched, the author argues, by less sympathetic Roosevelt biographers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SMARTY SARA by Anna Jane Hays
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 8, 2008

"Emergent readers deserve better than this incoherent and condescending tale. (Early reader. 4-7)"
The "mystery" of the key Sara finds on her doorstep plays itself out in this wan offering for young readers. Read full book review >