Search Results: "Sara Holbrook"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ENEMY by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"A solid fictional examination of a time rarely depicted for this age group. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
Poet Holbrook brings back the Cold War in her debut novel for middle grades. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2001

"Glazner's Poetry Slam: The Competitive Art of Performance Poetry (2000) remains the older slammer's bible, but younger readers looking for ways to get poetry 'from the page to the stage' will get plenty of help here. (Nonfiction. 10-15)"
Guaranteed to get even confirmed classroom drones out of their seats and into an audience's face, this high-energy manual is a poetry slam-dunk, combining plenty of easy practice pieces—"The guinea pig has fleas, / there are grass stains on my knees, /AND IT'S ALL MY FAULT?"—with pithy advice about voice, gesture, rhythm, and other aspects of solo, paired, and choral performance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WEIRD?  (ME, TOO!)  LET'S BE FRIENDS by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2011

"A playful yet thoughtful look at the many manifestations of friendship—through words, teasing, physical play—just right for the mid-elementary crowd. (Poetry. 8-12)"
Performance poet Holbrook teams up again with Sandstrom (Zombies! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZOMBIES! by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2010

"This is good classroom poetry, though, if not verse for the ages. (Poetry. 9-11)"
"He called on me. / My answer's wrong. / Caught like a squirrel / on an open lawn. / Standing alone, / twiddling my paws, / frozen in place, / working my jaws. / I'd like to bolt, / but where? / I moan. / Could anyone / be more / alone?" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BY DEFINITION by Sara Holbrook
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2003

"It's a Poetry Jam (2002). (Poetry. 11-13)"
"TV came / out of radio, / free verse / came out of rhyme. / I am / coming out of middle school, / changing all the time." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"The teen voices are honest and will ring true for any teen who's ever had a crush, been mortified by his or her parents or broken off a relationship with the classic 'it's not you, it's me.' (Poetry. 11-15)"
The highs and lows of first love are chronicled in various poetic forms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 4, 2007

"A penetrating, street-level view of an infinitely depressing and growing problem."
Smack in the middle of the contentious immigration debate comes this angry indictment of the U.S. government's inability to protect us from criminal aliens already within our border. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAROLD by Hal Holbrook
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 20, 2011

"The events in this book end in 1958—meaning, one hopes, that a sequel will appear in short order."
Noted actor Holbrook serves up a charming but unsentimental memoir of his early life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RABBIT, THE FOX, AND THE WOLF by Sara
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"That rabbit is taking a terrrible chance; still, the art here is extraordinary and the outcome, at the least, provocative. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Another wordless book from the creator of Across Town (1990). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SISTERHOOD
by Leila Roy

Stuff happens to most people. One thing going wrong, I mean. One family member missing a chance to help. One who cuts you off. One person with her own shit to deal with.
One of those things isn’t enough to send you falling through the cracks.
But all of them together, they accumulate. An abandoned mother here. A missing uncle ...

Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 16, 2006

"A keen eye and wry sense of humor are almost enough to brighten this bleak memoir-cum-plaint."
A meditation on loss by Pierson (The Perfect Vehicle, 1997, etc.), who mourns the changes that have forever altered both her hometown and the city she came to adopt as home. Read full book review >