Search Results: "Sara Maitland"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Uplifting, if somewhat unorthodox."
A novelist, feminist, and amateur theologian provides both food for thought and a more user-friendly deity for disaffected Christians. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"Strong and challenging work from a highly skilled writer who, apart from a tendency toward argumentative stridency, may be counted among the best of her generation."
The metaphysics of feminism and the baroque influence of the late Angela Carter are weighty presences in this generally accomplished collection of 30 stories by British author Maitland (Ancestral Truths, 1994), etc. A suave, amused narrative voice—sometimes first-person, sometimes omniscient, unafraid to address the reader directly—is a virtual constant in these witty, skillfully woven tales, whose variety and vitality are compromised chiefly by a recurring (and off-putting) impression of smugness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANCESTRAL TRUTHS by Sara Maitland
Released: Feb. 11, 1994

"Intelligent if earnest writing as Maitland fearlessly tackles the great mysteries: an often old-fashioned novel that is also an affecting story of love in its infinite variety."
Mysteries sacred and profane—daughter Clare may have murdered her husband—are provocatively plumbed as the high-minded Kerslakes gather for their holiday in Scotland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Flaws aside, the author provides a pensive, often-invigorating blend of cultural anthropology and walking tour."
An imaginative study examining both the vital role forests play in fairy stories and their vanishing significance from modern life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABEL by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2003

"Maitland has always been a notable spinner of mysteries, but his fifth case continues to extend his range, depth, and mastery into Ruth Rendell territory."
The shooting of a controversial prof in front of horrified witnesses reunites shaky DS Kathy Kolla, sidelined after the traumatic showdown of Silvermeadow (2002), with Chief Inspector David Brock. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMPANY OF LIARS by Karen Maitland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Decidedly not your English teacher's Chaucer, but creepy, suspenseful fun."
Nine pilgrims try to outrun the Black Death in first novelist Maitland's sensational take on The Canterbury Tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNTING DAYLIGHT by Piper Maitland
Released: Feb. 5, 2013

"Above the common run of vampire fiction, but not all that it could be."
Half-vampire Carol Barrett faces familiar-seeming perils as well as romance in the second of a series of paranormal thrillers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SILVER MEADOW by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2002

"Not even the most hard-bitten readers, however, are likely to forget the monstrous terrarium world of Silvermeadow."
Four years after cold-blooded Gregory North killed two guards during a bank robbery in Ilford, Chief Inspector David Brock of Scotland Yard is still hunting him down the most unlikely byways. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DARK MIRROR by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 6, 2009

"Like All My Enemies (2009), average for this distinguished series. But Kathy's fans, presented with two installments of her adventures in two months, can hardly complain."
Researching eminent Victorians can be dangerous, DI Kathy Kolla realizes; you can end up as dead as they are, and by the same means. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2011

"For those nostalgic about for the glory days of the British empire, this biography should have a certain appeal."
An eccentric explorer in the tradition of T.E. Lawrence, Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) lived with tribal warriors in Africa, traveled on camel through the Arabian desert and journeyed to the hitherto-unknown source of the Awash river in Ethiopia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 17, 2012

"A poignantly rendered, impeccably researched tale of a rupture healed by time."
Love lost in Alsace during World War II, rediscovered 50 years later in New Jersey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIDER TRAP by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 4, 2007

"Though Maitland (No Trace, 2006, etc.) is never less than sensitive and professional, Brock and Kolla's delayed-action ninth case is their most routine."
A schoolboy's grisly discovery in South London takes DCI David Brock on a most unsentimental journey into a case he fumbled long ago. Read full book review >