Search Results: "Sara Maitland"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Flaws aside, the author provides a pensive, often-invigorating blend of cultural anthropology and walking tour."
An imaginative study examining both the vital role forests play in fairy stories and their vanishing significance from modern life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1996

"Strong and challenging work from a highly skilled writer who, apart from a tendency toward argumentative stridency, may be counted among the best of her generation."
The metaphysics of feminism and the baroque influence of the late Angela Carter are weighty presences in this generally accomplished collection of 30 stories by British author Maitland (Ancestral Truths, 1994), etc. A suave, amused narrative voice—sometimes first-person, sometimes omniscient, unafraid to address the reader directly—is a virtual constant in these witty, skillfully woven tales, whose variety and vitality are compromised chiefly by a recurring (and off-putting) impression of smugness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1995

"Uplifting, if somewhat unorthodox."
A novelist, feminist, and amateur theologian provides both food for thought and a more user-friendly deity for disaffected Christians. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANCESTRAL TRUTHS by Sara Maitland
Released: Feb. 11, 1994

"Intelligent if earnest writing as Maitland fearlessly tackles the great mysteries: an often old-fashioned novel that is also an affecting story of love in its infinite variety."
Mysteries sacred and profane—daughter Clare may have murdered her husband—are provocatively plumbed as the high-minded Kerslakes gather for their holiday in Scotland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 17, 2012

"A poignantly rendered, impeccably researched tale of a rupture healed by time."
Love lost in Alsace during World War II, rediscovered 50 years later in New Jersey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPIDER TRAP by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 4, 2007

"Though Maitland (No Trace, 2006, etc.) is never less than sensitive and professional, Brock and Kolla's delayed-action ninth case is their most routine."
A schoolboy's grisly discovery in South London takes DCI David Brock on a most unsentimental journey into a case he fumbled long ago. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2011

"For those nostalgic about for the glory days of the British empire, this biography should have a certain appeal."
An eccentric explorer in the tradition of T.E. Lawrence, Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) lived with tribal warriors in Africa, traveled on camel through the Arabian desert and journeyed to the hitherto-unknown source of the Awash river in Ethiopia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CRUCIFIXION CREEK by Barry Maitland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"First of a series. Though you'll wonder early and often how Harry can possibly survive for any sequels, you'll hope again and again to be proved wrong."
The creator of DS Kathy Kolla and DCI David Brock, those ornaments of the Met (The Raven's Eye, 2013, etc.), goes Down Under to feature an even more hard-used cop. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BABEL by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2003

"Maitland has always been a notable spinner of mysteries, but his fifth case continues to extend his range, depth, and mastery into Ruth Rendell territory."
The shooting of a controversial prof in front of horrified witnesses reunites shaky DS Kathy Kolla, sidelined after the traumatic showdown of Silvermeadow (2002), with Chief Inspector David Brock. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COMPANY OF LIARS by Karen Maitland
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 7, 2008

"Decidedly not your English teacher's Chaucer, but creepy, suspenseful fun."
Nine pilgrims try to outrun the Black Death in first novelist Maitland's sensational take on The Canterbury Tales. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MARX SISTERS by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 1999

"A clever, flavorsome debut with a particularly deft knack of pulling the rug out from under you in between chapters, just when you think you're safe."
Detective Sergeant Kathy Kolla, handling her very first murder investigation, isn't even sure Meredith Winterbottom was murdered. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE CHALON HEADS by Barry Maitland
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"The third and finest case so far for this underrated pair of coppers (The Malcontenta, 2000, etc), and the most satisfyingly twisty mystery of the year."
Chief Inspector David Brock has nothing but bad memories of Sammy Starling, the petty crook he helped build a case against years ago. Read full book review >