Search Results: "Sara Miles"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 1, 2001

"A sweeping debut not only for the author but also for this branch of American poli-sci, with color on every page and a hacker's gift for cutting through the blather."
The chronicle of a farcically troubled marriage between two rich, hubristic West Coast techies and their e-mail-challenged D.C. counterparts. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CITY OF GOD by Sara Miles
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 4, 2014

"Poignant and passionate look at the city church, inside the walls and out."
Account of an unusual urban Ash Wednesday. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE RABBIT, THE FOX, AND THE WOLF by Sara
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"That rabbit is taking a terrrible chance; still, the art here is extraordinary and the outcome, at the least, provocative. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Another wordless book from the creator of Across Town (1990). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ETERNITY  by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 3, 2013

"Fun to be sure, but also a case where shorter might have been sweeter—and more suspenseful. (Horror. 12 & up)"
An overall satisfying conclusion to a tale that imagines the Furies as three beautiful but terrifying supernatural sisters who thrive on vengeance against teens who they feel have done wrong. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ENVY by Elizabeth Miles
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 4, 2012

"The Furies make pleasingly vicious villains; horror fans won't want to miss this second in a planned trilogy. (Horror. 12-18)"
The Furies from Greek mythology return to terrorize high school students in this heart-pounding follow-up to 2011's Fury. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FICTION
Released: May 1, 2011

"Fans of Ellen Wittlinger and Gary Soto will be pleased to find them included in this edgy anthology for teens who dare to face the sometimes-ugly truths of life. (Short stories. 12 & up)"
Truth-telling can be dangerous, as anyone knows who's traveled the angst-filled terrain of adolescence. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIDEO VENGEANCE by Miles Tripp
Released: Jan. 15, 1990

The most devious, cinematic mind in all of mysterydom is at it again, now with a tale so twisty that London private-eye John Samson (The Cords of Vanity, etc.) has to resolve it several times before the truth will out. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHRIST by Jack Miles
NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 5, 2001

"But no doubt the hordes of readers who devoured God: A Biography (1995) will be happy to get more of the same."
Pulitzer-winner Miles concentrates on the gospels (mostly John, supplemented by Luke and Matthew), with occasional reference to Acts and a closing look at Revelation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 1, 1997

"Haunting and thrilling, this is a beautifully told story of violence and courage, and an unforgettable look behind the yellow crime-scene tape. (Regional author tour)"
A summer spent in the trenches with detectives from the LAPD. Read full book review >