Search Results: "Sarah C. Campbell"


BOOK REVIEW

MYSTERIOUS PATTERNS by Sarah C. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"For visual learners, this is a particularly accessible demonstration of an intriguing concept. (Informational picture book. 5-9)"
Through examples of what fractals are and what they aren't, this photo essay introduces a complex mathematical idea in a simple, inviting way. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2008

"Sure to encourage early readers and listeners to explore their own backyards for similarly wondrous creatures. (Picture book/nonfiction. 4-7)"
A rosy wolfsnail prowls along a hosta leaf, finding and devouring its prey—another snail. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GROWING PATTERNS by Sarah C. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2010

"This clear demonstration of complex ideas will be welcomed in elementary classrooms. (more about Fibonacci numbers, glossary) (Informational picture book. 5-9)"
In nature, the number series called Fibonacci numbers (1,1,2,3,5,8,13...) often appears in the arrangement of petals or spiral patterns in plants and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Nov. 30, 2014

"A thorough, readable and passionate exploration of an inclusive faith."
Campbell's personal and intellectual understanding of the Bible's historical, man-made roots. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THANKSGIVING by Sam Sifton
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 30, 2012

"A brief, straightforward guide to hosting a Thanksgiving dinner without being overwhelmed."
An easy-to-read, concise, somewhat tongue-in-cheek guide for how to host the perfect Thanksgiving dinner. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SEE THE WORLD THROUGH SCARLET-TINTED GLASSES
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Beneath the Shine by Sarah Fine

Cover Story: Beneath … the Shine
BFF Charms: Eventually, With Benefits
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: Politechs
Bonus Factor: The Scarlet Pimpernel
Factor: Politics
Anti-Bonus Factor: Needs a Glossary
Relationship Status: Concerned Constituent

Cover Story: Beneath … the Shine

This cover is a little on the nose. It’s pretty, and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HUG MACHINE by Scott Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 26, 2014

"In his first outing as an author, Campbell shines. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A feel-good ride, full of droll artistic asides and an abundance of caring. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SARAH DUNN
by Megan Labrise

Somewhere along the line in Lucy and Owen’s marriage, the sex tapered off. The makeup, high heels, and date nights went out the window. The poop wound up on the wall. Again.

“Why is there poop on the wall again?” Sarah Dunn writes in The Arrangement, a big, bawdy comic novel (starred review) set in the fictional Hudson Valley ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY GOES TO CAMP by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 10, 2014

"Fans of the first will probably be disappointed; at best, it's a desperation read-alike for Big Nate or Wimpy Kid. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 9-12)"
Can Hal survive Camp Jamestown or will he becometh history? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARTBOY AND THE TIME CAPSULE by L.A. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 3, 2013

"A certain series starter (thankfully), given the promise of an interesting summer in the final pages. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Bad enough history class is so boring; now it's keeping Hal from getting his own room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK DIAMOND DETECTIVE AGENCY by Eddie Campbell
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2007

"The veteran artist rises to a new challenge."
A visually stunning graphic narrative with all sorts of complicated plot twists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MERMAID AND THE SHOE by K.G. Campbell
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Although this luminous tale of self-discovery has echoes of 'The Little Mermaid,' like Minnow, it sings its own strong song. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Unlike her talented older sisters, a little mermaid feels disappointingly ordinary until her curiosity unveils her special skills. Read full book review >