Search Results: "Sarah Dessen"


BOOK REVIEW

THIS LULLABY by Sarah Dessen
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: May 1, 2001

"Insightful writing, distinctive characters, and a contemporary scene where sex and music rule, compose a melody worth reading. (Fiction. YA)"
Not every high-school senior gets to plan her mother's fifth wedding the week after graduation, but then, not everybody has a mother who is a famous romance novelist either. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FINDING LIGHT IN THE SHADOW
by Sarah Pitre

 

BOOK REPORT for Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

Cover Story: A Vast Improvement
BFF Charm: Yay!
Swoonworthy Scale: 8
Talky Talk: Dessentastic

Bonus Factors: Lakeview, A Motley (Dessen) Crew, Tasty Business
Relationship Status: Love

 

Cover Story: A Vast Improvement

I used to complain that all Sarah Dessen covers looked like brochures on Women's Health and Your Changing ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SEE THE WORLD THROUGH SCARLET-TINTED GLASSES
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Beneath the Shine by Sarah Fine

Cover Story: Beneath … the Shine
BFF Charms: Eventually, With Benefits
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: Politechs
Bonus Factor: The Scarlet Pimpernel
Factor: Politics
Anti-Bonus Factor: Needs a Glossary
Relationship Status: Concerned Constituent

Cover Story: Beneath … the Shine

This cover is a little on the nose. It’s pretty, and the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SARAH DUNN
by Megan Labrise

Somewhere along the line in Lucy and Owen’s marriage, the sex tapered off. The makeup, high heels, and date nights went out the window. The poop wound up on the wall. Again.

“Why is there poop on the wall again?” Sarah Dunn writes in The Arrangement, a big, bawdy comic novel (starred review) set in the fictional Hudson Valley ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

COLORS by Sarah Ward
by Sarah Ward, illustrated by Sarah Ward
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2015

"A nifty, hardworking introduction to the world of color. (Board book. 6-18 mos.)"
The colors of the rainbow are explored in this multisensory book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LLOYD LLAMA by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 2, 2015

"Rough around the edges, but readers still llearning their lletters will enjoy the elementary wordplay promoted by these pastel pals. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A pink llama and a blue alpaca find common ground in this orthographically themed friendship story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTLY ARUGULA by Sarah Dillard
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 3, 2009

"Nifty, though the prose doesn't match the visual drollery. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Gauche guest rescues dull party, teaching host a lesson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WORDS FOR ME! by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"A solid vocabulary-extension tool. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers expand their vocabularies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GRIM BEGINNINGS by Sarah Graley
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 27, 2018

"An appealing mixture of 95 percent humor and 5 percent horror perfect for fans of John Allison's graphic-novel series Giant Days and the web series Carmilla. (Graphic fantasy. 12-18)"
Two girls attending university crush on each other and fight supernatural creatures in this charming graphic novel for teens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TANGLES by Sarah Leavitt
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2012

"Not simply the story of a disease, but of the flawed, complex, intelligent people whose lives it transformed."
The power of this graphic memoir is not that its story about a family dealing with Alzheimer's is so extraordinary, but that it has become so ordinary. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FIRE AND ICE (AND WHAT’S IN BETWEEN)
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for The Impostor Queen (The Impostor Queen #1) by Sarah Fine

Cover Story: Questionable Text Placement

BFF Charm: Yay

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: She Said

Bonus Factor: Elemental Magic

Relationship Status: Fan From the Start

 

Cover Story: Questionable Text Placement

The imagery on this book works perfectly with the story within—the snowflakes, the flames, the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

THE PICTURE THAT LAUNCHED A THOUSAND SHIPS
by Mandy Wan

 

BOOK REPORT for Fan Art by Sarah Tregay

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan
BFF Charm: Heck Yes!
Swoonworthy Scale:
 7
Talky Talk: Hormonally Charged
Bonus Factors:
 Lit Mag, LGBTQ, Tami Taylor Award for Amazing Motherhood
Relationship Status: Honeymoon Stage

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

So simple, so perfect; this cover is straight up bangin'. It's the kind of book ...


Read the full post >