Search Results: "Sarah Elizabeth Richards"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 7, 2013

"A page-turner in which each of the stories is different but compelling."
Freelance journalist Richards chronicles how five single women attempted to take charge of their own fertility. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PHOENIX by Elizabeth Richards
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 14, 2013

"Just as dreadful as the first book. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
The turgid adventures of a half-breed vampire and the human girl who loves him continue (Black City, 2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK CITY by Elizabeth Richards
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Nov. 13, 2012

"Bloated and banal. (Paranormal romance. 14-16)"
Eyes will roll. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WINGS by Elizabeth Richards
YOUNG ADULT
Released: June 12, 2014

"Only for those readers who are dying to read the end of Natalie and Ash's story. (Paranormal romance. 14-18)"
Blood Mates Natalie (all human) and Ash (half human, half vampire) continue the drive to unseat the evil dictator Purian Rose and win justice for all races in the United Sentry States. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERY DAY by Elizabeth Richards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 13, 1997

"Swift and gripping. (Film rights to Warner Brothers)"
A distinctive distinction, with a debut story from Richards that renews one's faith in the novel's possibilities. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RESCUE by Elizabeth Richards
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 2, 1999

"If you listen closely, you can even hear organ music in the background."
An account of a troubled adolescent and the havoc he wreaks on his stepmother's domestic life, by the author of Every Day (1997). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOOTFREE AND FANCYLOOSE by Elizabeth Craft
FICTION
Released: June 1, 2008

"Although their journeys include some unlikely events, such as the surprise appearance of blockbuster director 'Steven,' readers will suspend disbelief, sit back and enjoy the easygoing ride. (Fiction. YA)"
Fans of Bass Ackwards and Belly Up (2007) will appreciate this equally lighthearted, formulaic, brand-slinging sequel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIG by Sarah Elizabeth Schantz
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 7, 2015

"Achingly gorgeous, with a baffling end. (author's note) (Historical fiction. 14-18)"
A girl grows from 6 to 18 on a Kansas farm, methodically trying to fix her mother's mental illness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BASS ACKWARDS AND BELLY UP by Elizabeth Craft
ADVENTURE
Released: May 1, 2006

"While this story lacks the magic—literally and figuratively—of the Sisterhood novels, it's sure to find similar fans. (Fiction. YA)"
Call this chick-lit rip-off, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants: After Graduation. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

UP WHERE THE AIR IS CLEAR
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein

Cover Story: High in the Sky

BFF Charm: Yay x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 1

Talky Talk: The Adventures of Black Dove and White Raven

Bonus Factors: Ethiopian History, Pilots

Relationship Status: Love You Like a Brother

 

Cover Story: High in the Sky

The cover is perfect for this book ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

AVIATRIXES
by Leila Roy

Her birthday, the day she died, the day she first realized she wanted to fly—if we tried, I’m sure that we could make any day into Bessie Coleman day. But today is an especially good pick, because ninety-six years ago, on June 15, 1921, Bessie Coleman earned her pilot’s license—the first African American woman, as well as the first woman ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SEE THE WORLD THROUGH SCARLET-TINTED GLASSES
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Beneath the Shine by Sarah Fine

Cover Story: Beneath … the Shine
BFF Charms: Eventually, With Benefits
Swoonworthy Scale: 4
Talky Talk: Politechs
Bonus Factor: The Scarlet Pimpernel
Factor: Politics
Anti-Bonus Factor: Needs a Glossary
Relationship Status: Concerned Constituent

Cover Story: Beneath … the Shine

This cover is a little on the nose. It’s pretty, and the ...


Read the full post >