Search Results: "Scott Ely"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ELEPHANT MOUNTAINS by Scott Ely
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Equal parts interesting and unsettling, this one may appeal to fans of Gordon Korman and Gary Paulsen. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
A fast-paced, brutal story of survival delivered in a clipped, no-frills style. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PRIMED AND READY
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Violet Grenade by Victoria Scott

Cover Story: Pretty Deadly
BFF Charm: Caution!
Swoonworthy Scale: 6
Talky Talk: Unreliable Narrator
Bonus Factor: Mysterious Loner Dude
Anti-Bonus Factor: Awful Grownups
Relationship Status: Friends?

Trigger Warning: Violet Grenade features scenes of attempted assault, abuse, and bullying, and touches on very dark themes of death and murder. Some situations might be ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

BEST BOOKS OF 2016: PATRICIA BELL-SCOTT
by Maya Payne Smart

In The Firebrand and the First Lady, scholar Patricia Bell-Scott illuminates the unlikely friendship between two historic American women. Radical civil and women’s rights activist Pauli Murray and first lady Eleanor Roosevelt corresponded for years and swayed one another’s social justice aims and strategies. Their views never converged, but Bell-Scott makes a compelling case that they grew with and toward ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

EAST BEACH by Ron Ely
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 1, 1995

"Mystical stuff, man."
Retired salvage-agent Jake Sands (Night Shadows, 1994) is devastated by the death of nubile Santa Barbara waitress Julie Price, a beach bunny with invitingly soft bosoms, but not so devastated that he can't call her folks and announce that he's on the case. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 14, 2004

"A well-written, noteworthy contribution to African-American history."
An illuminating account of the free "Afro-Virginians" who lived and worked in a society and economy dominated by slavery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Case of the Missing Crown Jewels by Bob Martin
Released: June 26, 2015

"A good-hearted, educational, and affirming adventure that might have reached its full potential with a few adjustments."
A girl and her granddad team up to solve mysteries in this debut children's novel by a granddaughter-grandfather writing team. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A JOURNAL OF THE FLOOD YEAR by David Ely
Released: Jan. 27, 1992

"Somewhat schematic and episodic, with a too-naive protagonist, but still an inventive cautionary tale in which the vivid technological features are unsettling in their plausibility."
A bleak futuristic saga combining primal urges with an abhorrence of any human touch—from Ely (Always Home, p. 485, etc.), who situates a desperate love story in an America where technology has long since reached its terrifying zenith and decay has set in with catastrophic consequences. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALWAYS HOME by David Ely
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 12, 1991

"But in this eye-glazing circus parade, it's the author's showiness that finally stands out."
Peculiar is perhaps the only word that does justice to the wide range of stories included in this second collection by the author of such novels as Seconds and The Tour. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT SHADOWS by Ron Ely
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 1994

"First of a series, though Ely plots as recklessly as if he had to fit the whole series between these covers."
TV Tarzan Ely's first novel pits Jake Sands—a Travis McGee wannabe with the habits (jogging, weight training, sensitivity) of a Santa Barbara Spenser—against whoever killed his Coco Palms neighbor Wendell Leeds; Katherine Burley's missing husband, Greg; and Toni Spence, the woman Greg called just before he disappeared. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEASURING ANGELS by Lesley Ely
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2009

"A bit purposeful, but most of the healing is conveyed in the pictures rather than the brief narrative. (Picture book. 6-8)"
A young narrator and her former friend are on the outs until shared class projects bring them back together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 25, 1991

"An earnest and thoughtful contribution to the growing literature documenting the development of black consciousness in American society."
To Ely (African-American Studies & Southern History/Yale), Amos 'n' Andy, the first radio comedy series to portray an all- black world, provides a ``small but clear window which, like all windows, reveals more and more as one draws closer to it.'' Here, Ely looks closely at the changing responses of both blacks and whites to Amos 'n' Andy and examines what they reveal about the evolution of racial attitudes during the decades from the 1920's, when the series first aired, to the 50's, when it was transplanted to network TV. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOOKING AFTER LOUIS by Lesley Ely
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2004

Written by a clinical psychologist, this (fictional) view of an autistic child finding his place in a mainstream classroom bears a clear but not ponderous agenda. Read full book review >