Search Results: "Sergei Prokofiev"


BOOK REVIEW

SELECTED LETTERS OF SERGEI PROKOFIEV by Harlow Robinson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 1998

"Readers should, however, make up their own minds about his politics."
An entertaining and useful selection of Prokofiev's correspondence with prominent figures in Soviet and ÇmigrÇ art, dance, and music circles that brims with the composer's personality and literary style. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SERGEI PROKOFIEV’S PETER AND THE WOLF by Sergei Prokofiev
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 14, 2004

"There is ample precedent for tinkering with Prokofiev's masterwork, but this ending may jar those for whom the final melancholy notes of the oboe, representing the trapped duck, are the poignant, seminal moment in the story. (CD included) (Picture book. 5-9)"
A new treatment of Prokofiev's symphonic folktale in which each character is represented by a different orchestral instrument. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOVE FOR THREE ORANGES by Sergei Prokofiev
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Children (and adults) willing to set aside logic for a time will enjoy themselves mightily. (Picture book. 5-9)"
There's no getting around the surreal, mosaic quality of this tale, with its odd juxtapositions and dream illogic. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SERGEI EISENSTEIN by Ronald Bergan
NON-FICTION
Released: April 27, 1999

"An accessible, smart chronicle of a creative genius attempting to follow art and country. (36 b&w photos, not seen)"
This biography limns a man driven by ideas but thwarted by oppression from all fronts—family, business, and government. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SERGEI by Ekaterina Gordeeva
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 1, 1996

"Here the 25-year-old widow tells their story with a naive simplicity and innocence, lacking the womanly grace that embodied her love when she was on the ice with her husband. (16 pages color photos and 40 b&w photos) (Literary Guild alternate selection; Doubleday Book Club featured alternate)"
The jacket of this memoir seems to promise a fairy tale, as does the simple title. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GENOME by Sergei Lukyanenko
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 2, 2014

"Not quite up to the standard of Russia's greatest science-fiction writers (such as the Strugatsky brothers) but nonetheless refreshingly different and something of a page-turner: well worth investigating."
A medium-future exploration of the effects of genetic engineering, which first appeared in Russian in 1999, from the Moscow-resident author of Night Watch (2013, etc.).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FOREIGN WOMAN by Sergei Dovlatov
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1991

"A choice assortment of comic characters and incidents make this a wry but affectionate portrait of one of New York's newer communities."
A slight but engagingly humorous novel by Russian ÇmigrÇ Dovlatov (Ours: Scenes from Russian Family Life; The Suitcase) about life in the Russian section of Queens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PUSHKIN HILLS by Sergei Dovlatov
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 11, 2014

"A black comedy of eyes-wide-open excess in the vein of Frederick Exley's A Fan's Notes or David Gates' Jernigan. And a fine rumination on being Russian, besides."
Soviet émigré Dovlatov died in New York in 1990, and since then, his reputation in America, bolstered late in life by the New Yorker and by fans, including Kurt Vonnegut, has faded. With luck, that reputation will be restored and enhanced by the first English publication (with a lively, playful translation by his daughter Katherine) of this brief, fabulous, partly autobiographical 1983 novel.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 1, 1997

A fascinating, complex, and highly charged saga of the decline of a family, a nation, and a way of life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE YEAR OF THE COMET by Sergei Lebedev
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 14, 2017

"This gorgeously written, unsettling novel—a rare work about the fall of the Soviet Union as told through the eyes of a child—leaves us with a fresh understanding of that towering moment in recent history."
Lebedev follows up Oblivion (2016), his powerful novel about the atrocities of the gulag, with this autobiographical tale of a boy's coming-of-age during the years leading to the fall of the Soviet Union. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OBLIVION by Sergei Lebedev
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 12, 2016

"Lebedev's courageous and devastating first novel, published in Russia in 2011, applies modern insight and poetic force to atrocities past and to his country's unspoken campaign to remove them from history."
Journeying across the tundra on a search through his past, a young Russian is emotionally undone by horrific remnants of gulag atrocities—and the ease with which those crimes were systematically wiped from the national consciousness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RACHEL'S HOPE by Shelly Sanders
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2014

"Alas, not tight enough to resonate deeply. (historical note, glossary) (Historical fiction. 11-14)"
Rachel Paskar, now 16 in 1905 San Francisco, begins life anew, a refugee with her older sister, brother-in-law, and Menahem, a young boy with whom they escaped from the 1903 Kishinev, Russia, pogrom (Rachel's Secret, 2012). Read full book review >