Search Results: "Shawn K. Stout"


BOOK REVIEW

A TINY PIECE OF SKY by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"Successfully warmhearted and child-centered. (Historical fiction. 9-13)"
As her favorite sister heads off to Aunt Dottie's farm, Frankie Baum expects her own summer of 1939 to be dull, but her father's new restaurant creates an unexpected widening of her world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona will cheer as new friend Penelope finds what she is looking for. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb's large nose links her to her mysterious grandfather, who, it turns out, is not Graveyard Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB NEVER FORGETS by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2013

"Readers will root for and relate to this fresh-voiced young heroine who joins the likes of Ramona, Judy Moody and Clementine. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb is back with the same spunk and quirky narration that won readers over in her eponymous debut (2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

K by Hong Ying
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2002

"A delicate and exquisite success: Hong infuses real life with the drama and pathos of the best fiction."
A fictionalized account of a love affair Julian Bell conducted with a Chinese woman during the mid-1930s, by London-based novelist Hong (Summer of Betrayal, 1997; a memoir, Daughter of the River, 1999). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHAWN LOVES SHARKS by Curtis Manley
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 25, 2017

"Fun, quirky obsessions nurtured and celebrated. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Shawn knows just about everything there is to know about sharks, but friendship proves a little trickier to grasp in Manley and Subisak's collaboration. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DOSSIER K by Imre Kertész
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 7, 2013

"The author's novels may provide a better introduction to his work, but this memoir will help to further illuminate them."
Kertész, the first Hungarian writer to win the Nobel Prize for Literature, interrogates himself in a provocative memoir that will deepen the understanding of those already familiar with his novels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

K STREET by M.A. Lawson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"With characters as flat as construction paper and a formulaic plot, this book manages what other thrillers about the NSA have failed to do: make it boring."
Kay Hamilton—former Drug Enforcement Administration agent and woman of steel—takes on the all-knowing National Security Agency in the third entry in Lawson's series (Viking Bay, 2015, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZERO K by Don DeLillo
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 10, 2016

"DeLillo's latest novel asks compelling questions, but its answers are a bit shopworn."
A cryogenic facility beyond the edges of civilization provokes a series of meditations on death and life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ADVENTURES OF STOUT MAMA by Sibyl James
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 16, 1993

"Tiny tidbits, by turns genuinely charming and painfully cute. (First printing of 10,000)"
The author of In China with Harpo and Karl (1990), among others, offers 45 sporadically humorous accounts of the life of Stout Mama—an academic in her 40s and James's self-professed alter ego. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

K-9 by Rohan Gavin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 17, 2015

"A teeth-gnashing thriller more macabre than its predecessor, it will have readers (ahem) howling for a third. (Mystery. 10-14)"
The second in the Knightley and Son series gets a little darker, offering more bite, tragedy and paternal dysfunction, as well as respectable levels of gore. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

K-POP by Stuart A. Kallen
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"Though English-language books on Korean pop culture are unfortunately quite rare, only complete newbies will find this overview informative. (glossary, recommended albums, source notes, selected bibliography, further reading, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
A breezy but flawed introduction to Korean pop music for novice fans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

K FALLS by Skye Kathleen Moody
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 16, 2001

"A fish-counter has an easier job than the poor reader, who must sort out an overabundance of fishy characters, politics, and (bad) poetry."
Fleeing Kettle Falls, Washington, for Astoria, Oregon, Darla Denny lands a job at a bank and a nameless boyfriend. Read full book review >