Search Results: "Shawn K. Stout"


BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB NEVER FORGETS by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 24, 2013

"Readers will root for and relate to this fresh-voiced young heroine who joins the likes of Ramona, Judy Moody and Clementine. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb is back with the same spunk and quirky narration that won readers over in her eponymous debut (2012). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A TINY PIECE OF SKY by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 19, 2016

"Successfully warmhearted and child-centered. (Historical fiction. 9-13)"
As her favorite sister heads off to Aunt Dottie's farm, Frankie Baum expects her own summer of 1939 to be dull, but her father's new restaurant creates an unexpected widening of her world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PENELOPE CRUMB by Shawn K. Stout
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 2, 2012

"Fans of Clementine and Ramona will cheer as new friend Penelope finds what she is looking for. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Penelope Crumb's large nose links her to her mysterious grandfather, who, it turns out, is not Graveyard Dead. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SHAWN WEN
by Vincent Scarpa

Rare is the book about which one can say, in earnest, “I’ve never read anything like this before,” yet with A Twenty Minute Silence Followed by Applause, Shawn Wen has written such a book. From its idiosyncratic area of interest to its chameleonic formal modalities, Applause resists easy categorization at every turn, and this is one of its ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BECAUSE I STUBBED MY TOE by Shawn Byous
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2014

"An eye-tickling, cacophonous vocabulary builder. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Byous explores the domino theory—and they all fall down—to comic effect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WELCOME TO THE NEIGHBORWOOD by Shawn Sheehy
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 10, 2015

"An auspicious debut, imparting a worthy message in playful language and harmonious, sophisticated paper design. (Informational pop-up book. 6-9)"
Seven big, multileveled pop-up versions of animal-built homes or other structures highlight nature's interconnectedness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SILENT SPEAKER by Rex Stout
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 11, 1946

"Current topics and trends are a part of this wily Wolfe yarn."
Nero Wolfe returning after some six years, with as spectacular and gaudy flim-flams, obnoxious behavior as pre-war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BLACK MOUNTAIN by Rex Stout
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 14, 1954

"Surprise, surprise!"
The big news about Mr. Stout's big boy, Nero Wolfe, is that he not only gets out of the house to the morgue (for his first visit) but travels to Montenegro and that isn't all — he even plays hide and seek with villainous characters in the mountains! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRIO FOR BLUNT INSTRUMENTS by Rex Stout
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 24, 1964

"In Blood Will Tell analysis of the evidence saves the husband of a murdered woman who had given him good reason to have wished her dead."
Those three novelettes feature the stationary detective Nero Wolfe and his leg man, Archie Goodwin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GOLDEN SPIDERS by Rex Stout
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 26, 1953

"Calculating."
That open (but often shut) private eye, Nero Wolfe ignores police assumptions when he links three unrelated deaths and, with his meager force against N.Y.'s finest, ties in extortion with the murders. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DOG HERMIT by David Stout
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 1993

"Readers will savor this one."
Stout's Carolina Skeletons (1988) won an Edgar for Best First Novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MOTHER HUNT by Rex Stout
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 18, 1963

"Dependable."
Skillful plotting and a somewhat unusual idea make this basically a good Rex Stout. Read full book review >