Search Results: "Sherry B. Ortner"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 19, 2013

"Academics steeped in the work of Pierre Bourdieu will get the most out of this, yet film fans will also find some revelation."
Some incisive insight into independent films framed within a Marxist ethnographic critique that is occasionally impenetrable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

Anthropologist Ortner's (Columbia) ethnographic immersion into Sherpa life and how it has been affected by the international climbing culture is a remarkable display of agile fieldwork, sensitive to all the distinctive shadings that compose her subject. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BEST ARTIST IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Exuberance undiminished (and miraculously out of the whale that ate him in his last adventure), the squid who proclaimed I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007) returns with equally high-volume claims to artistic preeminence: "I can DRAW!!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BIGGEST THING IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"A gatefold and a page of stickers further enhance this whale of a debut. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Waves of exuberance flow out of this crowd-pleaser, in which a squid proudly points out how much bigger it is than any shrimp, clam, octopus or fish in the neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ACORNS EVERYWHERE! by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A light forest romp. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Sherry forgoes his signature squid, introduced in I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean (2007), for an outrageous squirrel and its acorn obsession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BURNING SKY  by Sherry Thomas
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"It caters to very specific tastes, but teens and adults in the target audience will devour it. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
An award-winning adult romance author's debut for teens bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOICES OF THE ALAMO by Sherry Garland
Released: March 1, 2000

"A detailed note provides facts left out of the narrative, while Himler's engrossing watercolors draw readers into this true tale of struggle over rights and territory. (glossary, bibliography, further reading) (Picture book. 7-12)"
This picture book of history-through-poems follows on the heels of Garland's novel, A Line in the Sand (1998, not reviewed), an intimate portrait of a girl's experience during the Alamo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW OF THE DRAGON by Sherry Garland
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"Honest; well written; depressing. (Fiction. 12+)"
A pessimistic YA novel, full of conflict: interethnic (Vietnamese immigrants vs. skinheads); intergenerational (old- fashioned matriarch vs. children and grandchildren struggling to assimilate and prosper); and intrapersonal (traditional values of self-sacrifice for the family's good vs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST HORSE ON THE FORCE by Sherry Garland
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 1991

"A simple story with distinct characters, an exciting chase, and some minor problem solving. (Fiction. 10-13)"
Skyjacker, the new horse that Brandon's Uncle Roy is testing for Houston's mounted police, looks like a natural—until Brandon's reckless friend Wayne puts a burr under his saddle and an officer is hurt in the ensuing fracas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Roma Amor by Sherry Christie
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 15, 2016

"The first installment in a page-turning saga that revisits the heroes and villains of the grandest city of the ancient world."
A historical novel of secrets and betrayal in first-century Rome, the first in an episodic series about the infamous, mad Caesars of the early Roman Empire. Read full book review >