Search Results: "Sherry B. Ortner"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 19, 2013

"Academics steeped in the work of Pierre Bourdieu will get the most out of this, yet film fans will also find some revelation."
Some incisive insight into independent films framed within a Marxist ethnographic critique that is occasionally impenetrable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1999

Anthropologist Ortner's (Columbia) ethnographic immersion into Sherpa life and how it has been affected by the international climbing culture is a remarkable display of agile fieldwork, sensitive to all the distinctive shadings that compose her subject. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BEST ARTIST IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Exuberance undiminished (and miraculously out of the whale that ate him in his last adventure), the squid who proclaimed I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007) returns with equally high-volume claims to artistic preeminence: "I can DRAW!!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BIGGEST THING IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"A gatefold and a page of stickers further enhance this whale of a debut. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Waves of exuberance flow out of this crowd-pleaser, in which a squid proudly points out how much bigger it is than any shrimp, clam, octopus or fish in the neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ACORNS EVERYWHERE! by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A light forest romp. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Sherry forgoes his signature squid, introduced in I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean (2007), for an outrageous squirrel and its acorn obsession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE IMMORTAL HEIGHTS by Sherry Thomas
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 13, 2015

"Delivers on all the grand epic sweep, lush prose, and overwrought emotion promised by the first two volumes; if that's the sort of thing you like, this is the sort of book you'll love. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
Thomas wraps up her trilogy with a grandiose finale, plus a hearts-and-flowers denouement. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SILENT STORM by Sherry Garland
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 1993

"Still, the story's thrust—like the approaching storm—is strong, and makes for absorbing reading. (Fiction. 9- 12)"
Though she once loved stories about the hurricanes around Galveston Island, Alyssa, 13, has been mute ever since her mother drowned and her father disappeared three years ago during a storm; convinced that she's somehow responsible, Alyssa can't remember for sure that traumatic day—but as another hurricane approaches and danger looms, she has flashbacks.... Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST RAINMAKER by Sherry Garland
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1997

"The book is enlivened by the behind-the-scenes life of the Wild West show and some insights into what it was like to be a Native American in white society in the 1800s. (Fiction. 10-16)"
The usually understated Garland (Letters from the Mountain, 1996, etc.) resorts to melodrama throughout this tale of a girl's search for identity. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LIFE OF GRAHAM GREENE by Norman Sherry
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2004

"Marked by sorrow and disappointment, but plenty of fascinating adventures. An exemplary biography, of profound interest to admirers of Greene's work and to students of contemporary letters."
The third and final volume of Sherry's superb life of the English novelist and man of letters, a monumental work published over the last 15 years. Read full book review >