Search Results: "Sherry Meidell"


BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE PICTURE MAN CAME by Faye Gibbons
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"A mediocre variation on Nancy Willard's Simple Pictures Are Best, illustrated by Tomie dePaola (1977). (Picture book. 7-9)"
A farm child's bad day turns about more than once in this helter-skelter episode. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DR. WELCH AND THE GREAT GRAPE STORY by Mary Lou Carney
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2005

"Still, it makes an intriguing tale, and Carney caps it with a brief corporate history that connects the dots between Welch's early (and unsuccessful) efforts to sell his 'unfermented wine' and its modern, multinational, ubiquity. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-9)"
Meidell creates an idealized, small-town setting in lusciously hued watercolors for Carney's sunny account of the invention of grape juice—that was produced by New Jersey dentist Thomas Bramwell Welch as a nonalcoholic alternative to communion wine for fellow Methodists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTERS ON THE RUN by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Monster and dino lovers alike will enjoy the foolishness. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 5-9)"
Yeti Blizz and his cryptid cronies are back for more adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BEST ARTIST IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Exuberance undiminished (and miraculously out of the whale that ate him in his last adventure), the squid who proclaimed I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007) returns with equally high-volume claims to artistic preeminence: "I can DRAW!!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REMY SNEAKERS VS. THE ROBO-RATS by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 25, 2017

"A madcap series opener with a wink or two at some topical themes. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 6-8)"
When an evil toymaker threatens to release a fleet of robot pigeon spy drones, it's up to urban raccoon Remy to organize and lead the resistance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PURPLE DAZE by Sherry Shahan
FICTION
Released: March 22, 2011

"Nonetheless, a valuable, vivid snapshot of how Vietnam shaped a generation. (historical timeline) (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
As leading-edge baby boomers turn 65, this novel in verse tracks their coming of age in 1965, a year marked by social and political unrest, racial violence and the official onset of the second-longest war in U.S. history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTERS FROM THE MOUNTAIN by Sherry Garland
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 1996

"An intriguing supporting cast goes to waste in a weak, uneven story. (Fiction. 11-13)"
In a clumsy take on a well-used premise (see also the review of Winifred Morris's Liar, below), an at-risk city teenager is sent to his country relatives for attitude correction. Read full book review >