Search Results: "Sherry Meidell"


BOOK REVIEW

THE DAY THE PICTURE MAN CAME by Faye Gibbons
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"A mediocre variation on Nancy Willard's Simple Pictures Are Best, illustrated by Tomie dePaola (1977). (Picture book. 7-9)"
A farm child's bad day turns about more than once in this helter-skelter episode. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DR. WELCH AND THE GREAT GRAPE STORY by Mary Lou Carney
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2005

"Still, it makes an intriguing tale, and Carney caps it with a brief corporate history that connects the dots between Welch's early (and unsuccessful) efforts to sell his 'unfermented wine' and its modern, multinational, ubiquity. (Picture book/nonfiction. 7-9)"
Meidell creates an idealized, small-town setting in lusciously hued watercolors for Carney's sunny account of the invention of grape juice—that was produced by New Jersey dentist Thomas Bramwell Welch as a nonalcoholic alternative to communion wine for fellow Methodists. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BEST ARTIST IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Exuberance undiminished (and miraculously out of the whale that ate him in his last adventure), the squid who proclaimed I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007) returns with equally high-volume claims to artistic preeminence: "I can DRAW!!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTERS ON THE RUN by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Monster and dino lovers alike will enjoy the foolishness. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 5-9)"
Yeti Blizz and his cryptid cronies are back for more adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REMY SNEAKERS VS. THE ROBO-RATS by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 25, 2017

"A madcap series opener with a wink or two at some topical themes. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 6-8)"
When an evil toymaker threatens to release a fleet of robot pigeon spy drones, it's up to urban raccoon Remy to organize and lead the resistance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BURNING SKY  by Sherry Thomas
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"It caters to very specific tastes, but teens and adults in the target audience will devour it. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
An award-winning adult romance author's debut for teens bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOICES OF THE ALAMO by Sherry Garland
Released: March 1, 2000

"A detailed note provides facts left out of the narrative, while Himler's engrossing watercolors draw readers into this true tale of struggle over rights and territory. (glossary, bibliography, further reading) (Picture book. 7-12)"
This picture book of history-through-poems follows on the heels of Garland's novel, A Line in the Sand (1998, not reviewed), an intimate portrait of a girl's experience during the Alamo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW OF THE DRAGON by Sherry Garland
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"Honest; well written; depressing. (Fiction. 12+)"
A pessimistic YA novel, full of conflict: interethnic (Vietnamese immigrants vs. skinheads); intergenerational (old- fashioned matriarch vs. children and grandchildren struggling to assimilate and prosper); and intrapersonal (traditional values of self-sacrifice for the family's good vs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST HORSE ON THE FORCE by Sherry Garland
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 1991

"A simple story with distinct characters, an exciting chase, and some minor problem solving. (Fiction. 10-13)"
Skyjacker, the new horse that Brandon's Uncle Roy is testing for Houston's mounted police, looks like a natural—until Brandon's reckless friend Wayne puts a burr under his saddle and an officer is hurt in the ensuing fracas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RESTRAINT by Sherry Sonnett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 1995

"An old-fashioned '80s love story that's pure pulp fun."
This sexual thriller purports to reverse gender roles as the heroine goes from passive bystander to full-blown predator in both the boardroom and the bedroom. Read full book review >