Search Results: "Sherry Shahan"


BOOK REVIEW

SKIN AND BONES by Sherry Shahan
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 1, 2014

"A quick read with a worthy message: We are all recovering from something, and the right companions can help you heal. The wrong ones could kill you. (Fiction. 13-17)"
Shahan tackles eating disorders in a fast-paced, contemporary coming-of-age novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FEEDING TIME AT THE ZOO by Sherry Shahan
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 22, 2014

"A lesser choice for beginning readers. (Early reader. 5-7)"
What do zoo animals eat? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ICE ISLAND by Sherry Shahan
ADVENTURE
Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"As a race for survival, this is also an exhilarating sprint through the pages. (author's note, glossary) (Adventure. 9-13)"
Riveting and atmospheric, this is a tale of teenage Tatum, who becomes lost and separated from her friend on an Alaskan island with only a team of dogs, a few supplies and her instincts to keep her alive. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

¡FIESTA! by Sherry Shahan
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2009

"Although there is a Spanish pronunciation guide for the months, there is no bibliography or resources for further reading. (Nonfiction. 6-10)"
Using the months of the year in Spanish and English as a structure, this engaging survey introduces holidays from all over Latin America, many of which are not found in other books. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FROZEN STIFF by Sherry Shahan
ADVENTURE
Released: Aug. 1, 1998

"Still, the action is rapid and mostly realistic; Shahan describes the natural beauty, as well as the mud, mosquitoes, and other miseries her young people encounter, with authority. (Fiction. 10-12)"
Two inexperienced kayakers are trapped in the Alaskan wilderness by a freak of nature in a patchy but vivid survival adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PURPLE DAZE by Sherry Shahan
FICTION
Released: March 22, 2011

"Nonetheless, a valuable, vivid snapshot of how Vietnam shaped a generation. (historical timeline) (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
As leading-edge baby boomers turn 65, this novel in verse tracks their coming of age in 1965, a year marked by social and political unrest, racial violence and the official onset of the second-longest war in U.S. history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPICY HOT COLORS/COLORES PICANTES by Sherry Shahan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"Successful both as an introduction to Latin American culture for children unfamiliar with it and as a celebration for those who call it their own. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Despite its title, Shahan's latest is not really bilingual, but rather a poetic characterization of nine colors, introducing their Spanish names and employing similes rooted in Latin American culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COOL CATS COUNTING by Sherry Shahan
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Simple and short enough for a breezy read-aloud, this also provides illustrations sufficiently detailed for pre-readers and beginners to mull over at their leisure. (Picture book. 3-7)"
In their follow-up to Spicy Hot Colors (2004), Shahan and Barragán again combine short, peppy text and vivid colors to create a busy, attractive picture book, informed by rhythmically jazzy beats. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SUNFLOWER FAMILY by Cherie Winner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 1996

"While the information is somewhat technical for beginners, this is a beautiful book for budding gardeners and nature enthusiasts who already have some background on the subject. (full-color photos, diagrams, illustrations, glossary, index) (Nonfiction. 7-10)"
In the Nature Watch series, an informative book that introduces readers to plants of the composite family, whose most familiar members are sunflowers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BEST ARTIST IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Exuberance undiminished (and miraculously out of the whale that ate him in his last adventure), the squid who proclaimed I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007) returns with equally high-volume claims to artistic preeminence: "I can DRAW!!" Read full book review >