Search Results: "Sherry Turkle"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"With that concrete grounding, her study stands out among the flock of recent Internet critiquesan informed and informative look at our ever-changing relationships with machines."
More than a decade after her groundbreaking study, The Second Self (1984), MIT psychologist Turkle returns to the subject of human views of and relationships with computers (and through computers, with each other and themselves). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RECLAIMING CONVERSATION by Sherry Turkle
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"A timely wake-up call urging us to cherish the intimacy of direct, unscripted communication."
The founding director of the MIT Initiative on Technology and Self explores the danger that text messaging is replacing in-depth, face-to-face conversation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 11, 2011

"Despite the dry, clinical writing, Turkle provides potentially valuable social research."
A clinical psychologist takes a critical and sometimes disturbing look at the psycho-social dangers of mixing technology and human intimacy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHERRY GOES SANE by Sherry M. Joiner
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 21, 2013

"An affecting, honest memoir useful to anyone trying to understand life with psychosis."
In this debut memoir, a woman describes how she came to understand, treat and live successfully with her mental illness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BEST ARTIST IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Exuberance undiminished (and miraculously out of the whale that ate him in his last adventure), the squid who proclaimed I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007) returns with equally high-volume claims to artistic preeminence: "I can DRAW!!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTERS ON THE RUN by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Monster and dino lovers alike will enjoy the foolishness. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 5-9)"
Yeti Blizz and his cryptid cronies are back for more adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REMY SNEAKERS VS. THE ROBO-RATS by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 25, 2017

"A madcap series opener with a wink or two at some topical themes. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 6-8)"
When an evil toymaker threatens to release a fleet of robot pigeon spy drones, it's up to urban raccoon Remy to organize and lead the resistance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ACORNS EVERYWHERE! by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"A light forest romp. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Sherry forgoes his signature squid, introduced in I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean (2007), for an outrageous squirrel and its acorn obsession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BIGGEST THING IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2007

"A gatefold and a page of stickers further enhance this whale of a debut. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Waves of exuberance flow out of this crowd-pleaser, in which a squid proudly points out how much bigger it is than any shrimp, clam, octopus or fish in the neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIFE WITH MOLLIE by Sherry Turner
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 14, 2017

"Engaging, honest, and poignant and a worthy addition to the burgeoning Alzheimer's literature."
A debut memoir that presents a realistic view of the challenges faced by baby boomers responsible for elderly parents. Read full book review >