Search Results: "Sherry Turkle"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 1, 1995

"With that concrete grounding, her study stands out among the flock of recent Internet critiquesan informed and informative look at our ever-changing relationships with machines."
More than a decade after her groundbreaking study, The Second Self (1984), MIT psychologist Turkle returns to the subject of human views of and relationships with computers (and through computers, with each other and themselves). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RECLAIMING CONVERSATION by Sherry Turkle
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"A timely wake-up call urging us to cherish the intimacy of direct, unscripted communication."
The founding director of the MIT Initiative on Technology and Self explores the danger that text messaging is replacing in-depth, face-to-face conversation. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 11, 2011

"Despite the dry, clinical writing, Turkle provides potentially valuable social research."
A clinical psychologist takes a critical and sometimes disturbing look at the psycho-social dangers of mixing technology and human intimacy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TURTLE ISLAND by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 3, 2014

"It's a sweet, fantastic depiction of community building, but it's just too bad that it doesn't acknowledge its debt to old, old stories about the Turtle Island that is North America. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A fantastically giant turtle is lonely until others make themselves at home on his shell. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I’M THE BEST ARTIST IN THE OCEAN by Kevin Sherry
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2008

Exuberance undiminished (and miraculously out of the whale that ate him in his last adventure), the squid who proclaimed I'm the Biggest Thing in the Ocean! (2007) returns with equally high-volume claims to artistic preeminence: "I can DRAW!!" Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONSTERS ON THE RUN by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 29, 2015

"Monster and dino lovers alike will enjoy the foolishness. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 5-9)"
Yeti Blizz and his cryptid cronies are back for more adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BURNING SKY  by Sherry Thomas
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"It caters to very specific tastes, but teens and adults in the target audience will devour it. (Fantasy. 12 & up)"
An award-winning adult romance author's debut for teens bids fair to be the next big epic fantasy success. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VOICES OF THE ALAMO by Sherry Garland
Released: March 1, 2000

"A detailed note provides facts left out of the narrative, while Himler's engrossing watercolors draw readers into this true tale of struggle over rights and territory. (glossary, bibliography, further reading) (Picture book. 7-12)"
This picture book of history-through-poems follows on the heels of Garland's novel, A Line in the Sand (1998, not reviewed), an intimate portrait of a girl's experience during the Alamo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHADOW OF THE DRAGON by Sherry Garland
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"Honest; well written; depressing. (Fiction. 12+)"
A pessimistic YA novel, full of conflict: interethnic (Vietnamese immigrants vs. skinheads); intergenerational (old- fashioned matriarch vs. children and grandchildren struggling to assimilate and prosper); and intrapersonal (traditional values of self-sacrifice for the family's good vs. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEST HORSE ON THE FORCE by Sherry Garland
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 1991

"A simple story with distinct characters, an exciting chase, and some minor problem solving. (Fiction. 10-13)"
Skyjacker, the new horse that Brandon's Uncle Roy is testing for Houston's mounted police, looks like a natural—until Brandon's reckless friend Wayne puts a burr under his saddle and an officer is hurt in the ensuing fracas. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RESTRAINT by Sherry Sonnett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 1995

"An old-fashioned '80s love story that's pure pulp fun."
This sexual thriller purports to reverse gender roles as the heroine goes from passive bystander to full-blown predator in both the boardroom and the bedroom. Read full book review >