Search Results: "Sherwin B. Nuland"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 3, 1994

"Strong stuff: not for those who prefer to cling to comforting illusions about life's end."
A sobering look at the clinical reality of death by a physician who wants it known that ``we rarely go gentle into that good night.'' Nuland (Yale Medical School; Doctors, 1988) takes the position that if we know the truth about the physical process of dying, we can rid ourselves of both our fears and our false expectations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 13, 2003

"A revealing account of a time, a place, and an unfortunate individual depicted here as his own worst enemy."
In the first of Norton's New Discoveries series on scientific breakthroughs, NBA-winner Nuland (How We Die, 1994, etc.) puts into proper historical context the achievements of a pioneering obstetrician. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 18, 2000

"Just let articulate atheists and miraculous doctors like Nuland keep on extending the lives of the faith healers."
A briskly surgical removal of the harmful nodes of legend infesting medical science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 27, 2008

"A slightly scattershot collection, but, as usual for Nuland, more hits than misses."
An assortment of essays by National Book Award winner Nuland (Surgery/Yale; The Art of Aging: A Doctor's Prescription for Well-Being, 2007, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOST IN AMERICA by Sherwin B. Nuland
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 17, 2003

"Charring and eloquent."
A dark, distressful, and deeply felt memoir of life with father—and its aftershocks—by National Book Award-winner Nuland (How We Die, 1994, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WISDOM OF THE BODY by Sherwin B. Nuland
NON-FICTION
Released: May 5, 1997

"To read this book is to share his awe. (8 drawings, not seen) (First printing of 200,000)"
From the author of the National Book Awardwinning How We Die (1994), another eloquent, thought-provoking dissertation, this time on what we are. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAIMONIDES by Sherwin B. Nuland
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 4, 2005

"A fine distillation."
A portrait in brief of a remarkable scholar/philosopher/physician of the 12th century, and an examination of the long tradition of Jewish healing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED, RIGHT, RETURN by June Keating Sherwin
Released: Dec. 5, 2011

"A perfect summer thriller for young readers."
In Sherwin's debut middle-grade novel, a young boy and his sister do battle with a band of treasure hunters in the Florida Keys. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EIGHT MILLION GODS AND DEMONS by Hiroko Sherwin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 2, 2003

"A compelling first novel, richly textured in its telling."
A family is destroyed as Japan becomes an imperial power bent on expansion and conquest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK STARS IN A WHITE NIGHT SKY by JonArno Lawson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2008

"Despite the variety of tone and subject, the poet's voice and sensibility are clear and consistent in this above-average gathering. (notes) (Poetry. 11-15)"
Staid design masks a terrific collection of poetic surprises, observations and ruminations on topics as varied as discovering sunken treasure but not taking it, meeting an unusually eloquent "Elephant," considering the prospect of eating "Frog On A Cob" again—"I can't stand the smell of it, / cannot think well of it, / live with the hell of it / day after day"—and, in the title poem, using the "inward-gazing mind" to reverse what the "outward-dazing eye" sees. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JESSICA B. HARRIS
by Maya Payne Smart

Scenic and engaging, My Soul Looks Back recounts the years author Jessica B. Harris spent on the periphery of a circle of friends that included literary powerhouses James Baldwin, Maya Angelou, and Toni Morrison. The memoir spans the globe and several decades to describe the fascinating group.

Harris was in a relationship with Baldwin’s close friend Samuel Clemens Floyd III ...


Read the full post >