Search Results: "Sigrid Nunez"


BOOK REVIEW

SALVATION CITY by Sigrid Nunez
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 16, 2010

"Class, not cure, is Nunez's preoccupation, and she handles it with fine-tuned irony and no small measure of profundity."
An adolescent orphan finds a home with an evangelical Christian community after his parents perish in an influenza pandemic, in the latest from Nunez (The Last of Her Kind, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MITZ by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1998

"Domestic vignettes here are nicely turned, but the details of social and literary history are obtrusive, rendering dense and merely illustrative what might have been a quirky, modest tale."
From letters and memoirs, the versatile Nunez (Naked Sleeper, 1996, etc.) shapes a small, curious contribution to the greater glory of Bloomsbury, in the form of a story based on Leonard and Virginia Woolf's pet monkey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEMPRE SUSAN by Sigrid Nunez
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 13, 2011

"Graceful, respectful and achingly honest."
Novelist Nunez (Salvation City, 2010, etc.) recalls her years with her longtime friend Susan Sontag (1933-2004). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOR ROUENNA by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 12, 2001

"A sad, touching tale of friendship and a smart, subtle dialogue on just where a culture's stories come from."
Whiting winner Nuñez (A Feather on the Breath of God, 1995, etc.) spins a moving tale about the unlikely friendship between a recently successful young writer and the old neighbor who seeks her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NAKED SLEEPER by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 1996

"No dazzling, high-powered dynamics here, but, rather, a steady, superbly insightful study of a life as quietly complex as the reader's own: a tale that touches the heart of what it is to be human. ($30,000 ad/promo; author tour)"
The promise Nunez revealed in her acclaimed 1995 debut, A Feather on the Breath of God, is here fulfilled and magnified, as she follows the struggles of a woman to know her father and understand herself, labors that imperil her once secure marriage. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LAST OF HER KIND by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"A masterful construction of the troubled conscience of the era and its aftermath."
A friendship between two women, forged during the tumult of 1968, is tested, torn and reaffirmed over the course of their very different lives. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FEATHER ON THE BREATH OF GOD by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 1995

"A rich, intelligent tapestry of the connections between language, love, beauty, and forgiveness."
With a subtle blend of fierceness and evanescence, Nunez's debut comments profoundly on the lasting effects of the immigrant experience and the haunting powers of family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING IS WONDERFUL by Sigrid Rausing
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 4, 2014

"A mellifluous portrait of a country slowly and painfully pulling itself into the European world."
Swedish-born philanthropist and Granta publisher Rausing offers an intimate look at the devastations of communism in Estonia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROSPERO’S DAUGHTER by Elizabeth Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 28, 2006

"Simply wonderful."
Exquisite retelling of The Tempest, set in a leper colony off the coast of Trinidad in 1961. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A WORLD ELSEWHERE by Sigrid MacRae
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 8, 2014

"One of the more curious World War II entanglements, deftly fashioned."
An American woman's marriage to a Baltic German noble in 1928 promised a fairy tale but ended in a nightmare of war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOUNDARIES by Elizabeth Nunez
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"A thoughtful literary novel exploring the shadows of cultural identity and the mirage of assimilation."
A "Pandora's box of the whys" has earned Anna Sinclair, a Caribbean-American immigrant, the position of editor of Equiano, a specialty imprint of Windsor, a New York publishing house. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SIGRID RAUSING
by Alex Layman

“My life is made up of rooms,” Granta publisher and editor Sigrid Rausing writes in her new memoir, Mayhem. “The rooms are actual rooms, the rooms are different languages, and the rooms are different relationships. I see my complicity, my guilt. I see my tiredness, my hopelessness, my false moral superiority, my finger wagging, wagging. I regret everything. I ...


Read the full post >