Search Results: "Sigrid Rausing"


BOOK REVIEW

EVERYTHING IS WONDERFUL by Sigrid Rausing
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 4, 2014

"A mellifluous portrait of a country slowly and painfully pulling itself into the European world."
Swedish-born philanthropist and Granta publisher Rausing offers an intimate look at the devastations of communism in Estonia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAYHEM by Sigrid Rausing
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"A stylish and devastatingly lucid memoir."
The piercing, fragmented story of how the author watched the horrific toll drug addiction took on her brother and his wife. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

SIGRID RAUSING
by Alex Layman

“My life is made up of rooms,” Granta publisher and editor Sigrid Rausing writes in her new memoir, Mayhem. “The rooms are actual rooms, the rooms are different languages, and the rooms are different relationships. I see my complicity, my guilt. I see my tiredness, my hopelessness, my false moral superiority, my finger wagging, wagging. I regret everything. I ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FRIEND by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"Breathtaking both in pain and in beauty; a singular book."
Quietly brilliant and darkly funny, Nunez's (Sempre Susan, 2011, etc.) latest novel finds her on familiar turf with an aggressively unsentimental interrogation of grief, writing, and the human-canine bond. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A FEATHER ON THE BREATH OF GOD by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 1, 1995

"A rich, intelligent tapestry of the connections between language, love, beauty, and forgiveness."
With a subtle blend of fierceness and evanescence, Nunez's debut comments profoundly on the lasting effects of the immigrant experience and the haunting powers of family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEMPRE SUSAN by Sigrid Nunez
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 13, 2011

"Graceful, respectful and achingly honest."
Novelist Nunez (Salvation City, 2010, etc.) recalls her years with her longtime friend Susan Sontag (1933-2004). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MITZ by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 1998

"Domestic vignettes here are nicely turned, but the details of social and literary history are obtrusive, rendering dense and merely illustrative what might have been a quirky, modest tale."
From letters and memoirs, the versatile Nunez (Naked Sleeper, 1996, etc.) shapes a small, curious contribution to the greater glory of Bloomsbury, in the form of a story based on Leonard and Virginia Woolf's pet monkey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A WORLD ELSEWHERE by Sigrid MacRae
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 8, 2014

"One of the more curious World War II entanglements, deftly fashioned."
An American woman's marriage to a Baltic German noble in 1928 promised a fairy tale but ended in a nightmare of war. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOR ROUENNA by Sigrid Nunez
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 12, 2001

"A sad, touching tale of friendship and a smart, subtle dialogue on just where a culture's stories come from."
Whiting winner Nuñez (A Feather on the Breath of God, 1995, etc.) spins a moving tale about the unlikely friendship between a recently successful young writer and the old neighbor who seeks her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KIDNEY SELLERS by Sigrid Fry-Revere
NON-FICTION
Released: March 1, 2014

"A compelling case for an unorthodox solution to a widespread health care problem."
Fry-Revere (The Accountability of Bioethics Committees and Consultants, 1993), the founder of a nonprofit bioethics think tank, goes to Iran to study the effects of legalizing compensation for organ donors. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 23, 2006

"For all its wealth of tales of espionage and intrigue, the narrative is bone dry and repetitive. Le Carré fans, be warned: It takes doing to make wartime Istanbul seem drab."
A tale of the forgotten heroes of the German resistance—forgotten because few Americans, at least, ever noticed them in the first place. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SALVATION CITY by Sigrid Nunez
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 16, 2010

"Class, not cure, is Nunez's preoccupation, and she handles it with fine-tuned irony and no small measure of profundity."
An adolescent orphan finds a home with an evangelical Christian community after his parents perish in an influenza pandemic, in the latest from Nunez (The Last of Her Kind, 2005, etc.). Read full book review >