Search Results: "Simon Kuper"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 11, 2012

"A footnote to history, to be sure, but a fascinating one."
Were the Dutch a nation of heroes of World War II resistance, as they like to claim? Paris-based Financial Times columnist Kuper (The Football Men: Up Close with the Giants of the Modern Game, 2011, etc.) rains on the liberation parade by suggesting that the right answer is, not quite. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THEO AND THE BLUE NOTE by Peter Kuper
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"A slight but serendipitous odyssey that owes its props to Chris Raschka's Charlie Parker Played Be Bop (1992). (Picture book. 5-9)"
A jazz cat with a limited repertoire finds his musical groove via a magical journey. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPEECHLESS by Peter Kuper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2001

"Kuper's generically left politics sometimes dull his arresting images, but his stylistic inventiveness and sophistication make this an essential collection for students of graphic narrative and design."
Collecting work from the entire career, beginning back in the mid-1980s, of illustrator, cartoonist, and narrative artist Kuper (Mind's Eye, 2000, etc.), this full-color anthology displays a range and richness of design that places him among the best graphic artists of his time: innovative, insightful, and always compelling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MIND’S EYE by Peter Kuper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"Kuper's black-heavy style, best used in his narrative work, here deadens jokes that need air and light: he's a great talent who hasn't yet found a subject suited to his style."
A regular contributor to magazines as diverse as Time and Mad, Kuper collects a second batch of his "Eye of the Beholder" cartoons, all in the same basic pattern: "four panels of clues to guess which point of view your eyes are following." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUNGER AND THIRST by Daniela Kuper
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2004

"A little too heartfelt for its own good: Kuper's story suffers badly from plodding along too slowly, too obsessively, and from not really going anywhere in the end."
An impressionistic yet hardly fleet-footed debut about a Jewish girl coming of age in the '50s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANOMALY by Tonya Kuper
Released: Nov. 25, 2014

"Sweet teen reading for fans of X-Men, Star Trek and all things geeky."
This teen sci-fi debut features a nerdy heroine who can add and subtract objects from reality. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROBOT BURP HEAD SMARTYPANTS! by Annette Simon
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 25, 2014

"A lot of eructation, with a little education. (Picture book. 2-4)"
The mechanical rivals of Robot Zombie Frankenstein! (2012) go for the full "alphabelch" in this effervescent return. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NURSE CLEMENTINE by Simon James
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 12, 2013

"Pleasant pictures for pretend-play fanatics; a sweet story for siblings. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Clementine receives a first-aid kit (complete with otoscope, tongue depressor and reflex hammer!) as a birthday present and assumes a new identity: Nurse Clementine. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PETS by Simon Abbott
by Simon Abbott, illustrated by Simon Abbott
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"An enjoyable, affordable addition to this accessible series. (Pop-up/board book. 2-4)"
Paper engineering animates a bevy of domestic animals as the pages turn. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

POP AND PLAY by Simon Abbott
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 17, 2013

"Despite these quibbles, both books are likable and affordable starter pop-ups. (Pop-up/board book. 2-4)"
As the book opens, paper engineering animates a variety of vehicles on the page. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Stay tuned. (Picture book. 5-7)"
James coasts through this remake of Baby Brains (2004), changing the milieu but not much else. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIRDWATCHERS by Simon James
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2001

"The grandfather's love of birdwatching and the pleasure of sharing this passion with his granddaughter, coupled with the frustration of the novice birder who can't spot a bird, rings true to anyone facing a new challenge, especially a child. (Picture book. 4-8)"
This gentle, intergenerational story successfully conveys in a simple and authentic voice a granddaughter's first birding experience. Read full book review >