Search Results: "Stacey Dressen-McQueen"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2007

"Buy where needed. (Picture book/poetry. 5-9)"
Hopkins selects 14 child-appealing poems centered on the allure of museums and their treasures. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOXES FOR KATJE by Candace Fleming
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 12, 2003

"As heartwarming and uplifting as a bouquet of tulips. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Katje and her family struggle to make due with substitutions for essentials like soap and sugar in Holland, post-WWII. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE MAMÁ FORGETS by Robin Cruise
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 5, 2006

"Warm and wise. (glossary of Spanish words and phrases) (Picture book. 4-8)"
A Mexican-American grandmother may be getting a bit forgetful, but she still remembers what's really important. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2008

"This iteration of the popular 'wagons-west' theme kicks the energy level up a notch above the usual. (afterword, resource list) (Picture book. 7-9)"
Inspired by an actual quilt and armloads of memoirs, this account of an 1859 journey along the Santa Fe Trail bubbles over with verbal and visual vim. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 23, 2011

"As vivid a demonstration of community as readers are likely to find. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-7)"
Charity and caring for others—the Jewish concept of "tzedakah"—comes full circle in the story of a big sister who demonstrates generosity to a younger sibling through community outreach. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIGGEST SOAP by Carole Lexa Schaefer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 9, 2004

"Still, the enchanting tale, set in the South Pacific, will encourage children's creativity and imagination and far outweighs this problem. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Kessy loves laundry day, because he can sit and listen to the adults spin wonderful tales as a way to counteract the drudgery of their laborious task. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FABULOUSLY FASHIONABLE LIFE OF ISABEL BOOKBINDER by Holly McQueen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 25, 2010

"A shallow, tedious tour through London's fashion scene."
A ridiculous follow-up to The Glamorous (Double) Life of Isabel Bookbinder (2008) in which a young Londoner wiggles her way into becoming a Top International Fashion Designer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNDER THE JEWELED SKY by Alison McQueen
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 21, 2014

"A richly imagined story of love, politics and fate, but one with a sometimes-jerky narrative pace."
In this ill-fated romance between a British girl and an Indian boy during India's independence, the author opens the doors to a maharaja's palace, follows the bloody massacres of partition and uncovers the sordid secrets of the diplomatic community in Delhi. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

THE SECRET'S OUT
by Leila Roy

While there’s no explicit rule against romantic relationships, our colonial ancestor jinxed them in her Last Word: “Beware ye aromateur; lay your traps of love, but do not yourself get caught.” Fall in love and, like Aunt Bryony, lose your supersniffer. It’s why Mother chose my father from a list of donors she got in the mail like a ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

YOU HAVEN’T DIED OF DYSENTERY. YET.
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Platinum Edition x 2

Swoonworthy Scale: 7

Talky Talk: Going Out West

Bonus Factors: Diversity, Oregon Trail, Shakespearean Retelling

Relationship Status: Friends Forever

 

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

I adore this cover. It’s so simple, but manages to incorporate so many story references: the ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

I FEEL THE EARTH MOVE UNDER MY FEET
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

BFF Charm: Platinum Edition

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: I Feel The Sky Come Tumbling

Bonus Factors: San Francisco, Diversity, Boarding School

Relationship Status: I Feel My Heart Start Trembling Whenever You’re Around

Cover Story: Montell Jordan

Boy, has Stacey Lee ever lucked out with covers! I ...


Read the full post >